CD Reviews


Written by Andy Davis

Last week our intrepid John Deaux managed to drag himself away from his usual medieval, but certainly not saintly, activities in order to sit down with the legendary John Bush of Armored Saint. Many things were discussed (recommended reading) including their latest live album Carpe Noctum, released last month on Metal Blade Records.

In surprisingly choreographed fashion and the week before the band embarks on their UK tour AATR had the pleasure of reviewing the already much acclaimed album and its clear to see why they are still a huge force in the heavy metal scene.

Recorded at both the band’s 2015 Wacken festival set and headlining show in Aschaffenburg, Germany Armored Saint give us a perfect example of when done right live albums can be an essential part to any bands discography.

The last live album these LA rockers gave us was back in 1989 with Saints Will Conquer and unlike some bands Armored Saint haven’t fallen into the trap of releasing a live album as an easy option.

One of the biggest mistakes made with live recordings is the lack of care and attention in ensuring a proper mix of capturing the live element whilst maintaining clarity of note and tone.

Here however they’ve got it right, I even played this album on a number of different set-ups, including my car, and neither the ageless vocals of John Bush nor the battering precision drumming of Gonzo Sandoval are drowned out by one another.

My personal particular highlights on this album are Last Train Home, Aftermath and Left Hook from Right Field.

So, if you feel like dusting of some of those much loved Armored Saint albums from back in the day then the time is now.

Score 8/10 






  1. Win Hands Down
  2. March of the Saint
  3. Stricken by Fate
  4. Last Train Home
  5. Mess
  6. Aftermath
  7. Left Hook from Right Field
  8. Reign of Fire

Armored Saint are: 

  • John Bush – vocals
  • Gonzo Sandoval – drums,percussion, backing vocals
  • Phil Sandoval – guitar
  • Joey Vera – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Jeff Duncan – guitar, backing vocals


Full interview with John Bush and Armored Saint tour dates are available here

Carpe Noctum and all things knightly are available here

About the author

Andy Davis

Andy ‘Scully’ Davis

Scottish based Rocker, Photographer and Whisky connoisseur (Jack still has a special place in my heart), with a side order of Geek thrown in for good measure.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.