Dying Fetus – Wrong One to Fuck With Album Review

Dying Fetus – Wrong One to Fuck With Album Review

12th November 2017 0 By Frank Rini

Dying Fetus return with their 8th album, Wrong One to Fuck With, and the band staying intact for the last 10 years has made this album one of their strongest.   Sean still on bass/vocals and Trey hammering away at the drums and John, founding member, continues to bellow and play some outstanding guitar.  I’ve enjoyed all DF albums immensely, but just to show us all DF have not forgotten their roots, they have brought back the old Df logo and put out their strongest album since Destroy the Opposition.  “Fixated on Devastation” comes right out the starting gates with some nice guitar sweeps and then right into a monster groove.  I was like Hell Yeah.  The song pounds.  And yes the guitar riff at the 3.15 mark is the Holy Shit part.  If anyone is standing after this part, that will be surprising.  I would figure everyone would be destroyed.  The song then abruptly ends.  “Panic Amongst the Herd” comes right in, perfect segue after the opening track ends.  The opening pitt riff is vicious and punishing beyond belief.  John just bellowing and growling as if he is ready to eat your mother and dog.  Sean lets in some vicious mid-range snarling and Trey has some monster drumming at the 1.40 part.  This groove is phenomenal.  

The middle section of the album has some longer numbers with songs exceeding the 5 and 6 minute range.  I always feel this style of death metal is best served with shorter tunes.  Dying Fetus still manage to make the songs last in your head and that is due to the riffs.  Songs like “Reveling in the Abyss”, “Seething with Disdain” and “Idealogical Subjugation” could have used a bit trimming, but the damn riffs.  Gallagher you dirty bastard!!  Really, he is one of the best at creating memorable riffs in this style of death metal.  Some would even call a pioneer to a degree, I cannot argue with that.

The title track has some excellent groove and excellent bass lines.  The song is like a monster tank, with teeth and blades lopping off heads and limbs and refusing to take any prisoners.  I think this would be an excellent opening song in a live setting.  Get that opening groove with the opening bass lines and then the mid-paced slam opening section.  I swear buildings would topple and chest cavities would explode all over the place.  I encourage DF to explore opening with this song.  Then you get that monster middle section slam, with the fast double bass.  Holy crap. What an opener. I would imagine the local infirmary would be stockpiled with bodies on the particular night DF opened with this song.  And then once the 4.19 section hits you square between your eyes, the neighborhood would evaporate in a cloud of smoke as the sinkhole to end all sinkholes opens up.  

This particular version has the “Induce Terror” bonus track from the 2016 single of the same name.  It’s ruthless and powerful. The song was not redone so the production differs slightly from the mix on this album.  But it sounds great nontheless.

Dying Fetus have returned with a monstrous album that really harkens back to their style of brutal slam and blasting.  This is a little less noodly doodly than their last several albums, but those sections are still there, just more refined and blended much better and this more of a return to form.  I felt the last several DF albums had gotten away from their punishing nature, and while still really good albums, Wrong One to Fuck With is great.  From start to finish this album slays and is killer.  All hail Dying Fetus!!

Score: 9 out of 10

Wrong One to Fuck With Album Info

Track List:

1. Fixated on Devastation
2. Panic Amongst the Herd
3. Die with Integrity
4. Reveling in the Abyss
5. Seething with Disdain
6. Ideological Subjugation
7. Weaken the Structure
8. Fallacy
9. Unmitigated Detestation
10. Wrong One to Fuck With
11. Induce Terror

Relapse Records

Release Date:
June 23, 2017

For Fans of:  Technical Brutal Death Metal with powerful slam grooves