Las Vegas Hard Rockers Otherwise Announce New Album ‘Defy’, Out November 8th

Las Vegas Hard Rockers Otherwise Announce New Album ‘Defy’, Out November 8th

5th September 2019 0 By John Deaux

OTHERWISE have announced their new studio album Defy, which will be released globally on November 8, their first with Mascot Records, a division of Mascot Label Group. 
The Las Vegas hard-rockers flew out of the traps when they were heralded in their early days by Fox News as one of the best unsigned bands in the U.S. after their debut single ‘Soldiers’ sold over 10,000 copies. The song went of to feature on 2012s ‘True Love Never Dies,’ which has over 26M Spotify streams alone and has become the band’s anthem. They also became the first band to reach #1 on Sirius Octane without a record label and it was their formidable presence at satellite radio in the U.S. that built the bands following.
They were formed by Sin City born brothers Adrian [lead vocals] and Ryan Patrick [guitar, vocals], on a diet of Stone Temple Pilots, Third Eye Blind and Faith No More, with Tony Carboney [bass, vocals], and Brian Medeiros [drums] completing the line up. The quartet have also previously enlisted high profile friends in Ash Costello (New Years Day) on ‘Heaven’ from their 2012 label debut and Jonathan Davis (Korn) on the self titled track on 2017’s ‘Sleeping Lions’.  Every single  they’ve released has reached the top 30 U.S. Mainstream Rock charts. Adrian Patrick also featured on In This Moment’s 2010 song ‘The Promise,’ the band’s highest charting single to date.
The announcement of a new label and new album has seen them push the boundaries of their signature style in terms of both songcraft and sonic experimentation alike.  “We grew up in the last era where nineties bands were Soul Rebels. They stood for something,” proclaims Adrian. “Since the greatest risks yield the greatest return, why play it safe? In between the last album and now, we changed everything. I had two sons, and it took their births for me to go, ‘Fuck it, we’ve got to shoot for the goddamned stars’.”
Since their self-titled independent debut in 2006, they’ve unleashed ‘True Love Never Dies’ [2012], ‘Peace At All Costs’ [2014], and ‘Sleeping Lions’ [2017]. Along the way, they have shared the stage with everyone from Stone Sour to Papa Roach in addition to shutting down Welcome To Rockville, Rocklahoma, and Shiprocked!
On ‘Defy’ they linked up with producer Matt Good [Asking Alexandria, Hollywood Undead] for the first time, commuting from Las Vegas to his Phoenix studio in order to cut these eleven tracks.  “It’s a new chapter all-around, and we’re fired up about it,” the singer says. “Matt is the most creative, prolific producer we’ve ever worked with. He’s the kind of guy we’ve always wanted in our corner.”
The first single “Lifted” proves that. A wiry riff snakes around blunt lyrics “about getting fucked up…it got me kicked off tours and banned from festivals,” he admits. “It’s about all of the shit that got me trouble. I’ve been the guy the song is about. I’ve lived that life. I’ve been there. It’s real.”

The opener “Bad Trip” kicks down the door with ominous electronics and glitchy echoes before a hard-hitting and hypnotic chant. “It serves as a commentary on the current nebulous state of affairs we find ourselves mired in a as a nation…as human beings on this planet.” Elsewhere, “Don’t Even” takes no prisoners with a stranglehold groove and knockout chorus.  “We were without a label and back to being a garage band,” recalls Adrian. The anthemic “Ain’t Done Yet” doubles as “OTHERWISE’s mission statement.” Meanwhile, the emotionally charged closer “Good Fight” strikes a different chord with its orchestral build up and soaring refrain. “It’s for my wife and sons as well as all of our families and friends who’ve had our backs in this crazy life by music,” smiles Adrian. “It’s the last one we did. My dad always said, ‘You’ve got to fight the good fight’. I felt some deeper connection to the phrase. It’s like it came from eons and generations ago. This notion of fighting the good fight is part of our DNA.”
“When you listen to the record, I hope you go, ‘I did not expect that’,” Adrian leaves off. “It’s personal. This is my fucking life. There’s no turning back. This band is the future of my family. It means everything to me—and all of us. This is OTHERWISE.”
Sin City’s sons have regrouped, refocused and thrown down their most impassioned music to date. They’re defiant and ready to come out fighting – bearing their heart, soul and laying it all open in the process.

Track Listing
1. Bad Trip
2. Money
3. Crossfire
4. Lifted
5. Picking At Bones
6. Ain’t Done Yet
7. Goliath
8. Don’t Even
9. Fame and Miss Fortune
10. Unbreakable
11. Good Fight

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!