Leaves Eyes – Symphonies Of The Night

Leaves Eyes – Symphonies Of The Night

26th November 2013 0 By Ant
Leaves Eyes hail from Germany/Norway and are a 5 piece symphonic metal band who have release this their 5th studio album ‘Symphonies Of The Night’ via Napalm Records. Fronted by Liv Kristine and growl vocals supported by husband Alexander Krull, Leaves Eyes have really stepped up their game this time around that’s heavier than previous with a sweet blend of beauty and the beast vocals, a taste of 90’s sounding guitars which work to create a sound similar to that of Nightwish and Epica.

The album opens with lightening pace and an evolved heaviness on ‘Hell to the Heaven’ and sets the stage perfectly for ‘Fading Earth’ which also has a really contagious riff. More of the same is to come with some brilliant tracks like ‘Galswintha’ and ‘Nightshade’ which although drags musically really shows the talent of Liv’s lungs, the vocal range is incredible! Leaves Eyes aren’t without their folk roots either and in fact embrace them wonderfully alongside some tightly well woven musical pieces. It’s not 100mph all the way through though slowing with ‘Saint Cecelia’ but all in all is a pleasurable album.

With a world tour in support of the release and dates in the UK for January 2014, unless you live on Christmas Island then there’s no excuse to not get yourself down for what promises to be an enjoyable journey of Symphonic Heavy Metal.


Score 7 out of 10




Band: Leaves Eyes
Album: Symphonies Of The Night
Record Label: Napalm Records
Release Date: 15/11/2013
Band Website: www.leaveseyes.de


Track List:

1. Hell to the Heavens
2. Fading Earth
3. Maid of Lorraine
4. Galswintha
5. Symphony of the Night
6. Saint Cecelia
7. Hymn to the Lone Sands
8. Angel and the Ghost
9. Éléonore de Provence
10. Nightshade
11. Ophelia

For fans of: Symphonic Heavy Metal, Nightwish, Epica

Standout Tracks: Hell to the Heavens, Fading Earth, Galswintha