MACHINE HEAD reveal new song ‘Beyond The Pale’, album release date & pre-order

MACHINE HEAD reveal new song ‘Beyond The Pale’, album release date & pre-order

17th November 2017 0 By John Deaux

Bay Area metal titans MACHINE HEAD will release their highly anticipated ninth studio album, Catharsis on 26th January via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.  

Click through to pre-order ‘Catharsis’ in an array of different formats, including various coloured/picture disc vinyl and a super-collectable deluxe box set.  Check out all the options at

A full-throttle rollercoaster through every facet of MACHINE HEAD’s increasingly diverse sound, ‘Catharsis’ looks certain to be one of 2018’s most acclaimed metal records, not to mention one of precious few that dares to confront the harsh realities of the world.  “This album is like a movie… a really long movie!” laughs frontman Robb Flynn.  “There are a lot of special songs on this record. I’ve never really felt like, ‘Wow, we’ve got something really special here!’ before, but this time I can feel it.  I know it.  I know some people aren’t gonna dig it and that’s always the case, so who cares?  I dig it.”

‘Catharsis’ was produced by Robb Flynn and recorded, mixed, and co-produced by Zack Ohren (Fallujah, All Shall Perish) at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, CA. Mastering was handled by Ted Jensen (Hatebreed, Alice In Chains, Deftones) at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.  The album’s cover photography was created by Seanen Middleton.

Catharsis track listing:

1. Volatile

2. Catharsis

3. Beyond The Pale

4. California Bleeding

5. Triple Beam

6. Kaleidoscope

7. Bastards

8. Hope Begets Hope

9. Screaming At The Sun

10. Behind A Mask

11. Heavy Lies The Crown

12. Psychotic

13. Grind You Down

14. Razorblade Smile

15. Eulogy

Tracklisting for the DVD element of the special edition bonus DVD format, filmed live at The Regency Ballroom, San Francisco, CA in 2015, runs as follows;  

1. Imperium

2. Beautiful Mourning

3. Now We Die

4. Bite The Bullet

5. Locust

6. From This Day

7. Ten Ton Hammer

8. This Is The End

9. Beneath The Silt

10. The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears

11. Darkness Within

12. Bulldozer

13. Killers & Kings

14. Davidian

15. Descend The Shades Of Night

16. Now I Lay Thee Down

17. Take My Scars

18. Aesthetics Of Hate

19. Game Over

20. Old

21. Halo

MACHINE HEAD recently announced the UK leg of their ‘Catharsis’ World Tour for May 2018.  As per MACHINE HEAD’s modus operandi in recent years, the dates will be in an ‘Evening With…’ format, featuring 2.5-3hrs of MACHINE HEAD every night with no support bands.  Don’t expect to see MACHINE HEAD at any festivals in 2018 either.  These shows will be your only opportunity to see the band live in the UK next year.  Tickets are on sale now from

Sun 13th May – SOUTHAMPTON Guildhall

Mon 14th May – CARDIFF University

Tue 15th May – BRISTOL O2 Academy

Thu 17th May – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy

Fri 18th May – LONDON Roundhouse

Sat 19th May – LONDON Roundhouse

Mon 21st May – NOTTINGHAM Rock City

Tue 22nd May – NEWCASTLE O2 Academy

Wed 23rd May – GLASGOW O2 Academy

Fri 25th May – MANCHESTER Academy

The band begin the North American leg of the ‘Catharsis’ World Tour on 25th January 2018 in Phoenix, AZ, wrapping up in Seattle, WA on 7th March.

For more info on MACHINE HEAD, point your mouse at either or


How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!