Sawthis – Youniverse

Sawthis – Youniverse

6th October 2013 0 By Ant

Spawning from Italy on the millennium and previously known as Sothis up until 2009 but where forced to change as a result of legal action from the US Black Metallers Sothis, debuted in 2003 via Temple of Noise records with Fusion and hitting Europe square in the face. Followed up with Egod through Scarlett records in 2009 whilst staging powerful performances across the continent, and now the 5 piece have knocked the ball out of the park with Youniverse.


Sawthis attack September’s back end in vulgar fashion with their third album, it’s a fast paced powerful release to match a band that’s renowned for their hard work ethics and live onslaughts who’s previously shared the stage with the likes of Lacuna Coil and Entombed but to name a couple!


Youniverse is a conceptual work focused on the theme of multiple personality disorder and features a very special guest appearance by Rob Cavestany from Death Angel.”


To The review!  Every track is entitled with ‘The’, maybe to stamp it’s own identity on a world that’s spinning it’s tits off with multiple personalities and front cover wannabes or maybe to simply be different. Let this not give you The impulse that each track is The same as this most certainly not The case, each track is fresh and crisp like The very first beer of a weekend and unlike a lot of bands who are currently just modifying previously famous riffage! The guitars are chugged how they’re meant to, The drums pounded as hard as they should do and The vocals leading with that Italian groutesque. If anything is to be against these guys would be I’d like to see them become more experimental with accents, licks or solos to top off what is a hard, heavy, powerful and god damn soul destroying 11 track release!

Score: 8 out of 10

AATR Approved




Record Label: Bakerteam Records
Release Date:  Sep 30th 2013
Band Website

Track Listing:

  1. The Logical Colors
  2. The Waking Up
  3. The Voice Falls On Me
  4. The Disturbed
  5. The Crowded Room
  6. The Indeleble
  7. The Impure Soul
  8. The Spotlight
  9. The Mad
  10. The Switch
  11. The Walking


For fans of:  Soilwork, Machine Head, Slipknot, Metallica, Testament, Pantera, Sepultura, In Flames

Standout Tracks: The Whole Album! \m/