Scar Symmetry – The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity)

Scar Symmetry – The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity)

9th October 2014 0 By Anthony Biello

..the album continues down the path of dick kicking sweetness with absolutely no filler material at all.Anthony Biello

Ever since the departure of lead singer, Christian Älvestam, in 2008, and the release of Holographic Universe, I became uninterested in Scar Symmetry. In my eyes, his voice set them apart from the rest of the scene. When he left, so did my interest. Shame on me, because once again I have been proven wrong upon listening to their newest offering, The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity). I have always viewed my self as an open minded music listener, but it’s situations like these that make me feel like a fucking fuck for missing out on something so good.

The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity) starts out with a short intro that last about 50 seconds before launching into Neohuman, and immediately I am bobbing my head and humming the chorus. It’s everything I remember and more for this nasty Swedish band! But those vocals though! Lars Palmqvis and Roberth Karlsson pull double vocal duties and deliver in a way I never thought possible and the production and musicianship is beyond top notch as well. By the time Neohuman is over, I almost catch myself saying “Christian Älvestam who?!“.

The rest of the album continues down the path of dick kicking sweetness with absolutely no filler material at all. “Limits to Infinity” comes complete with a chorus that you would swear was written in the 80’s and will be stuck in your head after one listen. “The Spiral Timeshift” is probably my favorite track with its gorgeous solo that flows right into the albums heaviest break down. But what rocked my metal loving socks off the most was the opening keyboard line to the album closer, “Technocalyptic Cybergeddon“. It starts out with the most innocent and beautiful series of notes you’ve ever heard and then launches into this massive epic guitar riff with blast beats underneath it all.

To be completely honest, The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity) surprised the shit out of me. I wasn’t expecting such a well written record from a band I discarded years ago. If you are a fan of Power, Progressive or Death Metal, then check this out. Scar Symmetry blends all of those genres together unlike any other band I’ve ever heard before. Supposedly this is the first concept album of a trilogy, and if the next 2 are even close to The Singularity (Phase I – Neohumanity), I would consider it a success.

Score: 8.5 out of 10
AATR Approved


Track List:

1. The Shape of Things To Come
2. Neohuman
3. Limits to Infinity
4. Cryonic Harvest
5. The Spiral Timeshift
6. Children of the Integrated Circuit (instrumental)
7. Neuromancers
8. Technocalyptic Cybergeddon”

Nuclear Blast