1st June 2017 0 By John Deaux

Celtic Frost will release a brand new best of titled “Innocence And Wrath” on 30th June 2017, via BMG.

Celtic Frost can be regarded as the heroes of the extreme metal scene, and yet there is so much more to the band’s music. This best of provides a great retrospective on their sound and offers a window on the un-doubtable influence Celtic Frost had on many other artists. The art direction of “Innocence And Wrath” was done by Tom G. Warrior. The release includes new sleeve-notes and an extensive booklet.

From ‘Morbid Tales’, through ‘To Mega Therion’, onwards to ‘Into The Pandemonium’ and finally ‘Vanity/Nemesis’, this is a band who refused to conform or follow any specific musical direction. They experimented, took risks and in the process have left behind a remarkable catalogue, which is timeless and extraordinary. When you hear these albums, you’ll appreciate why succeeding generations of diehard fans and cutting edge bands are so heavily inspired and influenced by Celtic Frost.

It almost seems churlish to regard Celtic Frost as one of the great extreme metal bands, because they were so much more than that. It’s better to hail them as among the finest extreme and experimental bands of the 1980s. Refusing ever to do what was expected or demanded, the band constantly changed musical direction, always brought in surprising influences, and kept people guessing as to where they might venture next. Their catalogue of albums is formidable and unmatched. Each is not only unique, but part of an entire tapestry that only now can be appreciated for being a remarkable part of music history. Despite, or maybe because of, constant turmoil on so many fronts, Celtic Frost achieved an artistic level few others would even have dared to dream of aspiring towards. They climbed high because they were never afraid to fall. Which is why the band are now rightly regarded as icons, and iconoclasts.

Xavier Russell – 2016


FORMAT:  2CD / Digital

  1. Human (Intro)
  2. Into the Crypts of Rays
  3. Morbid Tales
  4. Procreation (Of the Wicked)
  5. Return to the Eve
  6. Nocturnal Fear
  7. Innocence and Wrath
  8. The Usurper
  9. Dawn of Meggido
  10. Circle of the Tyrants
  11. Fainted Eyes
  12. Necromantical Screams
  13. Jewel Throne
  14. Eternal Summer
  15. Suicidal Winds (Emperor’s Return EP)
  16. Visual Aggression (Emperor’s Return EP)
  17. Mexican Radio
  18. Inner Sanctum
  19. Tristesses de la Lune
  20. I Won’t Dance (The Elders’ Orient)
  21. In the Chapel In the Moonlight
  22. The Inevitable Factor (Alternate Vox)
  23. The Heart Beneath
  24. Wine in My Hand (Third from the Sun)
  25. Wings of Solitude
  26. Nemesis
  27. Journey Into Fear (Emperor’s Return EP Recording Sessions)
    Pre Order HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!