Frank Zappa “Live At The Whisky A Go Go 1968” Double vinyl Review

Frank Zappa “Live At The Whisky A Go Go 1968” Double vinyl Review

8th July 2024 0 By Jon Deaux

“Live At The Whisky A Go Go 1968” double vinyl by Frank Zappa is like a time machine. It takes you back to a vibrant era of musical innovation and countercultural revolution! This live album captures the raw energy and eclectic genius of the Mothers of Invention during Zappa’s legendary performances at the Whisky A Go Go.

The sound quality on this double vinyl release is truly impressive, especially considering it was recorded back in the late ’60s. The remastering has kept the warmth and spontaneity of the live performances while making it sound great on modern systems. Zappa and the Mothers of Invention deliver an amazing set, showcasing their signature blend of rock, jazz, blues, and avant-garde experimentation. The band’s tight musicianship and Zappa’s virtuoso guitar work are real highlights. 

Although this is only highlight of the 3 sets Zappa played that night “Frank Zappa Live At The Whisky A Go Go 1968”is essential for any vinyl collection. It offers a fascinating glimpse into the early days of one of rock’s most unconventional and influential figures. Whether you’re a long-time Zappa fan or new to his music, this album is a testament to his enduring legacy and the spirit of the era!”


  • “King Kong”: The title and occasional vocal elements in “King Kong” might be seen as a parody of popular culture, using the iconic figure of King Kong as a symbol of larger-than-life spectacles in entertainment.
  • “KJhaki Shack”: Filled with nonsensical and humorous phrases, a hallmark of Zappa’s style. This absurdity is used to poke fun at various aspects of society and culture, often leaving the interpretation up to the listener.
  • “Trouble Every Day”: A hard-hitting commentary on media sensationalism and societal issues, driven by Zappa’s incisive lyrics and dynamic guitar solos.

    Score 8/10
    Label – UMc
    Release – 21st July 2024

    Track List

    Side 1

    1. Help, I’m A Rock / Transylvania Boogie

    2. My Boyfriend’s Back

    3. Bust His Head

    4. Tiny Sick Tears Jam

    Side 2

    1. “Fun & Merriment”

    2. Hungry Freaks, Daddy

    3. King Kong

    Side 3

    1. “The Purpose Of This Evening…”

    2. The Duke – Take 2

    3. Khaki Sack

    Side 4

    1. The Whip (FZ Mix)

    2. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It

    For all things Frank Zappa, click HERE and to purchase the album, click HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!