Instrumental, 2-piece, riff machine WALL (featuring members of Desert Storm) announce debut album & share 1st single (APF Records)

Instrumental, 2-piece, riff machine WALL (featuring members of Desert Storm) announce debut album & share 1st single (APF Records)

14th June 2024 0 By Jon Deaux

WALL – An instrumental 2-piece heavy fucking riff machine, built brick by brick & riff by riff by twin brothers and Desert Storm members Ryan & Elliot Cole.


Released on 30th August via APF Records (Desert Storm, Video Nasties, Barbarian Hermit), their debut album ‘Brick by Brick’ is overflowing with unashamed Iommi-worshipping, instrumental, sludge/doom metal. With the band taking inspiration from the first 6 Black Sabbath albums as well as being influenced by the undisputed kings of instrumental stoner rock – the much missed Karma To Burn, drummer Elliot Cole comments on some of the other artists they were listening to at the time while writing the album,


Torche, High on Fire, Elephant Tree, and The Sword were on heavy rotation a lot. I also was listening to a fair bit of Power Trip at the time too. But as well as the rock/metal stuff, we were listening to Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Radiohead which helped in a way with some of the more spacey & ambient sections on the album”


Like many recent projects, WALL was born during lockdown with the two brothers living together in a small flat. With both of them furloughed, this left the duo with little else to do but write music to distract themselves from the boredom of being stuck at home.


Ryan wrote riffs on an unplugged Gibson SG, whilst Elliot tapped out the drum rhythms on his lap. The first time the twins heard how the songs would sound properly was when they were in the studio tracking their initial first two EPs, as they couldn’t arrange a proper rehearsal due to restrictions.


While originally starting out as a side project, WALL began to evolve into a more serious proposition following shows at Bloodstock Open Air, Desertfest London, Masters of the Riff alongside shows with Discharge, Will Haven and European dates in Germany, Czech Rep & Slovakia.


Now following these shows and 2 Eps on APF Records, the next step for WALL is the release of their debut album ‘Brick By Brick’. Recorded at Shonk studios / Warehouse Studios – Oxford, by Jimmy ‘Evil’ Hetherington & mastered by Tim Turan @ Turan Audio, ‘Brick By Brick’ is essential listening for any fan of slow, crushing riffs. 

‘Masking My Contempt’ is the 1st single to be shared from the album wth Elliot adding, 

“We are really excited to release the debut album ‘Brick by Brick’ & ‘Masking my contempt’ is the first new piece of music in about 2 years (since the Wall vol.2 EP) The song ‘Masking My Contempt’ starts with a sample from an amusing scene, that is taken from a film we like called American Beauty. The scene is where Lester Burnham blackmails his boss for over a years salary. We have said for years that it would make a cool intro to a song, and to kick in with a big groovy riff after it. The title of the song is clearly taken from the sample, and the rest of the track was built around that first riff. ‘Masking my Contempt’ switches between a 6/8 and 4/4 time signature. There are only 3 riffs in the whole song, and some bluesy slide guitar overdubed…it’s short and sweet and what we set out to achieve with this first single.”

‘Brick by Brick’ is available on CD and digitally the album can be pre-ordered now:


F.F.O – Black Sabbath, Karma To Burn, High on Fire, Desert Storm


1 – Wrath of the Serpent

2 – Sonic Mass

3 – Obsidian 

4 – Legion

5 – Nineteen (Karma to Burn cover)

6 – Avalanche

7 – Masking My Contempt

8 – The Tusk

9 – Speedfreak

10 – Falling from the Edge of Nowhere

11 – Cirrhosis

12 – Filthy Doner Kebab on a Gut Full of Lager

13 – Electric Funeral (Black Sabbath cover)


Upcoming Shows –

08.09.24 | UK | London | New Cross Inn


WALL are:

Ryan Cole – guitar

Elliot Cole – drums


Follow online:

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!