JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13 : ‘Running Games’ – new album by electrifying solo project features an all-star cast / out 12.02.21 (Frontiers)

JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13 : ‘Running Games’ – new album by electrifying solo project features an all-star cast / out 12.02.21 (Frontiers)

16th November 2020 0 By John Deaux

Best known to rock fans as a current guitarist for Whitesnake and Trans-Siberian Orchestra, as well as his work with Night Ranger and the Broadway show Rock Of Ages, US musician Joel Hoekstra returns with a second album from his electrifying solo project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13.

Joined by an all-star cast of musicians that include Russell Allen (vocals), Tony Franklin (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), Derek Sherinian (keyboards) and Jeff Scott Soto (backing vocals), ‘Running Games’ sees Hoekstra and company pick up where the debut release, ‘Dying To Live’, left off. Long hailed for his fiery, tasteful guitar work, Hoekstra’s playing here raises the bar to a new level, while once again he also handles the bulk of the creative process, crafting his vision for this powerful hard rock gem by overseeing songwriting, arranging and production. Adding in masterful mixing work from Chris Collier, the result is 70’s/’80’s inspired classic hard rock with 2020 muscle.

Says Hoekstra: “Years ago, I released three solo albums of mainly instrumental guitar music. With Joel Hoekstra’s 13, I am working on something that showcases my production, writing and playing in the genre that I am best known for, which is melodic hard rock.” As with his 13 debut, the new record can be described as DIO’ish at it’s heaviest, although it is also influenced by the blues-based sound of Whitesnake as well as melodic bands such as Foreigner and Journey. As for its first single, ‘Hard To Say Goodbye’, Hoekstra adds: “it represents the more melodic sound of the album, but fans can also look forward to some aggressive tracks.”

1  Finish Line
2  I’m Gonna Lose It
3  Hard To Say Goodbye
4  How Do You
5  Heart Attack
6  Fantasy
7  Lonely Days
8  Reach The Sky
9  Cried Enough For You
10  Take What’s Mine
11  Running Games
12  Lay Down Your Love (bonus track – digital)

Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – guitars
Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob) – lead vocals, backing vocals
Vinny Appice (ex-Black Sabbath, DIO) – drums
Tony Franklin (ex-The Firm, Blue Murder) – bass
Derek Sherinian (Sons Of Apollo, Dream Theater, Black Country Communion) – keyboards
Jeff Scott Soto (Sons Of Apollo, Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – backing vocals
special guests
Lenny Castro (TOTO) – percussion
Chloe Lowery (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) – backing vocals
Dave Eggar (Evanescence, Coldplay) – cello
Katie Kresek (Adele, Five For Fighting) – violin, viola

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 3

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!