Napalm Death – Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism – Review

Napalm Death – Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism – Review

28th September 2020 0 By Mark Booth

NAPALM DEATH is a name that is renowned with extreme music, always evolving their sound to blaze ahead of the competition but never sacrificing their integrity. After forty years as a band and having just released their sixteenth album, “Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism”, what can we expect on this release as the follow up to acclaimed 2015 album “Apex Predator – Easy Meat”?

“Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism” burst forth with the frenzied and chaotic ‘Fuck The Factoid’ and continue the blazing torrent of blasting riffs and cataclysmic grinding on ‘Backlash Just Because’. The next two tracks, ‘That Curse of Being in Thrall’ and ‘Contagion’, continue the onslaught with intense blastbeats, ultra heavy riffs and Barney growling his lyrics of social injustice over the cacophony. However as fans of NAPALM DEATH have come to expect, they have experimented with their sound. Such as ‘Joie De Ne Pas Vivre’ with its industrial replete, which also sees Barney deliver his discontent with a raspy black metal vocal style. We also have the controversial second single ‘Amoral’, with the strong post punk and KILLING JOKE inspired sound that caught fans off guard. While the album closer ‘A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen’ is reminiscent of EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN with its industrial sound and gothic grooves,and also reveling in SWANS and (more) KILLING JOKE territory.

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” is a double edged sword, will diehard fans embrace the experimentation or shun these tracks in favour of the more ‘traditional’ cuts on offer? While new/casual fans might find the experimental tracks a welcome relief from the frenzied bombardments of some of the tracks? The album will make sure listeners are happy with at least half the tracks on offer, whether that’s with the grindcore speedier cuts reminiscent of or the alternative left field experimental tracks (or choice cuts from both). I love NAPALM DEATH, however viewing this record objectively for this review I believe my score is a true reflection. We know some fans will shun this release and other will welcome the evolution of the bands sound, you win some and lose some! 

NAPALM DEATH are extreme metal royalty and this release isn’t going to damage the reputation they have built over their career, however it might divide the fans and especially have them wondering which direction they will take on the next release. If however you want a more grind inspired extreme metal record, yet keeping your loyalty to NAPALM DEATH, then check out the latest VENOMOUS CONCEPT album.

SCORE – 6.5/10

Track Listing
01. Fuck the Factoid
02. Backlash Just Because
03. That Curse of Being in Thrall
04. Contagion
05. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
06. Invigorating Clutch
07. Zero Gravitas Chamber
08. Fluxing of the Muscle
09. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Release Date: 18th September 2020
Label: Century Media

For all things Napalm Death, click HERE and to purchase the album, click HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!