Purest of Pain – ‘Solipsis’ out March 1st.

Purest of Pain – ‘Solipsis’ out March 1st.

18th January 2018 0 By Jon Deaux

Dutch melodic death metal quintet Purest of Pain are ready to unleash their long-awaited debut album ‘Solipsis’ on March 1st.

Led by guitarist and main songwriter Merel Bechtold, a name you’ll all be familiar with as a member of Dutch rock phenomenon Delain, (new Delain drummer Joey de Boer is also in the PoP ranks) Purest of Pain is a band that from their inception in 2008 have had a clear vision of exactly where they were heading. A real labour of love, ‘Solipsis’ began to take shape seven years ago but due to Merel (as well as Delain she’s also toured the world with the hugely respected Anneke van Giersbergen/The Gentle Storm and MaYaN) and her band mates hectic schedules work on the record was often delayed, but was always there on the back burner waiting for the chance to finish it and share it with the world.

After having released the EP ‘Revelations in Obscurity’ in 2011 and a single ‘Momentum’ (2013), the band concentrated on live work (opening for heavyweights such Opeth, Textures, Suicide Silence, Unearth and Attack Attack!) in their home country as well as a number of festival appearances, including an unforgettable slot at Wacken in 2014. The bulk of the live work was in part to help fund the album recordings but also gave them the chance to hone their craft so that when they were able to enter the studio, the songs for ‘Solipsis’ would be 100% ready. Choosing to remain totally independent, the band launched an overwhelmingly successful crowd-funding campaign which saw them realise their target in just six days! In keeping with the band’s fiercely independent stance, Merel took the production reins, with invaluable help coming from Mantis Audio studio (Delain).

With the album ready to go it was sent to renowned ‘sound wizard’ Jens Bogren, well known for his work with Opeth, Arch Enemy, Soilwork amongst others, who worked his magic and delivered a sonic masterpiece.          

‘Solipsis’ is a guitar oriented album, recorded as organically as possible to ensure that the band’s formidable live performance has been captured in the recordings. Written mostly by Merel, (fellow guitarist Michael van Eck wrote the song ‘E.M.D.R.’) with all lyrics coming from J.D. Kaye, ‘Solipsis’ is at times technical and challenging, but is undeniably driven by a relentless groove, enhanced by hugely melodic passages, wonderful tone and moments of ambient clarity.      

‘Solipsis’ is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital release. 

‘Solipsis’ track list;

  The Pragmatic (1:19) / Truth-seeker (2:09) / Vessels (2:59) / Crown of Worms (3:42) / Momentum (5:05) / The Sleep of Reason (1:33) / Tidebreaker (4:16) / Trial & Error (4:49) / Terra Nil (6:05) / Noctambulist (3:38) / E.M.D.R. (4:21) / Phantom Limb (4:09) / The Solipsist (3:52) / The End (2:25)     

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!