Sheffield’s New Torchbearers, Steal The City, Announce Debut Album ‘Road To Nowhere’

Sheffield’s New Torchbearers, Steal The City, Announce Debut Album ‘Road To Nowhere’

2nd July 2024 0 By Jon Deaux

Sheffield has been producing world-beating rock/metal music powerhouses for decades. Iconic legacy artists Def Leppard put Steel City on the world’s map, paving the way for modern metal heavyweights Bring Me The Horizon and While She Sleeps to emerge and collectively dominate the modern alternative music scene. 

Now stepping up to stake their claim is Steal The City, a young Sheffield group whose melodic yet aggressive songs and ferocious live performances have been turning heads and taking names over the past few years. With such a rich musical heritage, Steal The City’s relentless drive and potent creativity is now realised on their upcoming debut studio album, ‘Road To Nowhere.’ 

As heard on Kerrang! Radio, lead single and album opener, ‘Drag Me To Hell’, reflects on the dark toxic nature of social media and immediately drags listeners in with its unrestrained lyrics and fierce energy.

Recorded and produced by guitarist James Kirkham at STC HQ, with mastering duties courtesy of Ste Kerry (Sleep Token/While She Sleeps/Malevolence), Steal The City’s debut album is stuffed with anthems of protest, but ultimately soaring with unity and fortitude that blend uplifting melodies delivering a potent message of resilience. Highlights tracks? Many features on ‘Road To Nowhere’. From ‘Drag Me To Hell’ and ‘Stand Together’, to ‘Knight The Unholy’ and ‘You Don’t Define Me’ to name but a few; Steal The City delivers a taste of the dark and epic, capturing the essence of classic rock/metal but with a contemporary edge that’s too irresistible to ignore.

The new album’s lyrical thematics delve into the myriad challenges faced by modern-day music artists and individuals alike, navigating the murky terrain of achieving tangible success in their craft in a time of screens dominating day-to-day life. Steal The City embraces the liberating realization that the human journey holds greater significance than the destination and so, ‘Road To Nowhere’ thus becomes a triumphant ode to this perspective, celebrating the true essence of success in the creative journey.

Bold, assertive, and dynamic; are just a few words to describe this young band, Be ready, as they’re already on the lips of many fans and it’s only a matter of time before one of Sheffield’s boldest breaks through and steals this city.

‘Road To Nowhere’ by Steal The City is released 20th September 2024.

Album Tracklist:

1. Drag Me To Hell
2. In Ruins
3. Stand Together
4. If You Could See Me Now
5. You Don’t Define Me
6. Knight The Unholy
7. Timebomb
8. Tomorrow’s Another Day 
9. Up In Smoke
10. Adrenaline 
11. Road To Nowhere

Steal The City is:

Joe Chuggy – Lead Vocals and Guitar
James Kirkham – Lead Guitar and Vocals
Tom ‘Smit’ Smith – Bass and Vocals
Ellis Bullement – Drums

Live Dates:

5th July – WHITEHAVEN – Twisted Tongue (w/ The Filth Hounds)
27 Sept – SHEFFIELD – Yellow Arch Studios (Album Launch Show)

Connect with Steal The City:

. Official Website:
. Facebook:
. Instagram:
. TikTok:

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!