9th June 2022 0 By John Deaux
Underground icon, extreme metal trailblazer, third world warrior, and leader of a diverse and dedicated tribe, Max Cavalera not only survives but thrives, blasting out riff after killer riff. The same spirit which launched SOULFLY in 1997 summons impossibly heavy noise to this day, throwing down ten slabs of monstrous music on the band’s twelfth album, Totem which is set for release via Nuclear Blast on August 5th.
Today, the band releases the album’s second single entitled, Scouring The Vile featuring John Tardy of OBITUARY. Check out the video for the track below or listen on streaming platforms.
SOULFLY’s Max Cavalera comments, 

“Scouring the Vile is SOULFLY’s personal fuck you letter to cancer! The lyrics are angered by the loss of loved ones. It was amazing to share the vocals with an old veteran, John Tardy of OBITUARY.“

Last month, SOULFLY kicked off the album campaign with lead single, Superstition.
Listen to ‘Superstition’ on your streaming platform of choice and pre-save the album to be in with a chance of winning a prize. See full physical pre-order options here.
Talking about the album, SOULFLY’s Max Cavalera informs, 
“Totem is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a 2-year journey writing with Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun and the anger in Metal.”
Watch Max talk about the album title below and the inspiration and native spirituality behind it.
Totem’ will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Jewelcase
  • Blue Cassette (Limited to 300)
  • Long Box 
  • CD Jewelcase
  • Sticker
  • Pin
  • Vinyl
  • Black
  • Gold
  • Bundle
  • Album Shirt
  • CD Jewelcase

‘Totem’ was recorded at Platinum Underground in Mesa Arizona by John Aquilino and Arthur Rizk with assistance from John Powers. Produced by Max alongside Arthur Rizk (Kreator, Code Orange), the album boasts guest appearances from John Powers (Eternal Champion), Chris Ulsh (Power Trip), and John Tardy (Obituary). Arthur Rizk also played lead guitar on the record. Album artwork was created by James Bousema.
TOTEM tracklisting:

  • Superstition
  • Scouring The Vile
  • Filth Upon Filth
  • Rot In Pain
  • The Damage Done
  • Totem
  • Ancestors
  • Ecstasy Of Gold
  • Soulfly XII
  • Spirit Animal

Max Cavalera | Vocals & GuitarZyon Cavalera | DrumsMike Leon | Bass Guitar
Find SOULFLY Online:


How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!