THE MYSTERINES: New album Afraid of Tomorrows out this Friday

THE MYSTERINES: New album Afraid of Tomorrows out this Friday

20th June 2024 0 By Jon Deaux

Merseyside alternative rock band The Mysterines are soon releasing their second album ‘Afraid of Tomorrows’, the highly-anticipated follow-up to their critically-acclaimed Top 10 debut album ‘Reeling’.  The album has a new release date, set for the 21st of June via Fiction Records.  In anticipation of the album the group has shared the lead single ‘Stray’, which premiered on BBC Radio 1 as Clara Amfo’s Hottest Record, as well as their singles ‘Sink Ya Teeth‘ and this week’s ‘The Last Dance‘.  The group are finishing their record store tour across the UK this week as well, which started at London’s Rough Trade East on the 11th of June and will be finishing at Glasow’s Assai on the 26th of June. 
Recorded and produced by Grammy Award-winning producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Angel Olsen) in LA, ‘Afraid of Tomorrows’ is a deeper and darker foray into The Mysterines’ psyche than its predecessor, and reflects the maturity and growth of the band, completed by George Favager (bass), Callum Thompson (guitar) and Paul Crilly (drums). “Afraid of Tomorrows is a mirror where you find you’re nothing more than a formless being, one made from celestial constellations – of traumas, of the old and new, mistakes, addiction, fear and happiness, loneliness, but ultimately a desire for life and the fight to keep living. It’s a collage of what’s been lost and of love unbounded”, says Lia.
Earlier this year The Mysterines played a UK leg touring as main support to Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes and have also been announced as special guests to Bloc Party for their huge 20th anniversary Crystal Palace Park show on 7th July.  The group are set to bring their electric live show to festivals all over Europe and the UK this summer, including Live at Leeds in the Park, 2000 Trees, Truck Festival and Tramlines, as well as on their largest to date Europe and UK headline tour this Autumn. See the live dates below. 


The Mysterines – ‘Afraid of Tomorrows’ Track List: 

  1. The Last Dance
  2. Stray
  3. Another Another Another
  4. Tired Animal
  5. Jesse You’re A Superstar
  6. Hawkmoon
  7. Sink Ya Teeth
  8. Junkyard Angel
  9. Goodbye Sunshine
  10. Inside A Matchbox
  11. So Long
  12. Afraid of Tomorrows

    The Mysterines 2024 Live Dates: 

    Record Store Tour Dates:

    Tue 25th Jun – HMV, Manchester

    Wed 26th Jun – Assai, Glasgow


    Summer Shows & Festivals:

    24th May – In It Together Festival, Wales, UK

    25th May – Live at Leeds in the Park, Leeds, UK

    15th Jun – Brighten the Corners, Ipswich, UK

    6th Jul – The Boileroom, Guildford, UK

    7th Jul – Crystal Palace Park, London (supporting Bloc Party)

    13th Jul – 2000 Trees Festival, Cheltenham, UK

    25th Jul – Truck Festival, Steventon, UK

    26th Jul – Tramlines Festival, Sheffield, UK

    2nd Aug – Y Not Festival, UK

    UK Autumn Tour:

    Sat 19th Oct – Ulster Sports Club, Belfast

    Sun 20th Oct – Saint Luke’s, Glasgow

    Tue 22nd Oct – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham

    Wed 23rd Oct – Thekla, Bristol

    Thu 24th Oct – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London

    Sat 26th Oct – Olympia, Liverpool

    The Mysterines are:  Lia Metcalfe (vocals/guitar), George Favager (bass), Callum Thompson (guitar), Paul Crilly (drums)

    KEEP UP WITH THE MYSTERINES: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Spotify

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!