Uriah Heep – Outsider Album Review

3rd June 2014 0 By Carlos Cardoso

Uriah Heep could release a steaming pile of cow manure, and I would still listen to it on the off chance that it might be one of those albums that brings back the feeling of “Look At Yourself”, “Demons And Wizards” or the always under-rated “Wonderworld”. There is of course, practically no chance of that happening and although “Outsider” is nowhere near the classics of the band, it makes a pretty damn good job of keeping the band alive.

After the tragic event of Trevor Bolder’s death due to cancer in 2013, one would think that the band might take a little time before releasing “Outsider”. However, that was not the way Trevor did things, and it certainly was never the way Uriah Heep took on life. Mick Box (the last original member) knew that forward is the way to go, therefore he was not afraid of moving on with the band after the death of one who was with him for so long.

Outsider” may not be that much proggy, and it most definitely is not what they did in the past when they were being accused of ripping off Deep Purple. Sure “Speed of Sound” opens the album with the classic Hammond organ punching away at our soul, but it’s not quite the same. The title track is filled with precious guitar details that remind the listener of the classic “Easy Livin”, but then it falls short because it does not take advantage of that archetypal Uriah Heep sound. The album closes on a high note with the surprisingly heavy “Say Goodbye” carrying a vintage sound to it that takes us closer to their ‘70s period.

Is it fair to judge Uriah Heep for their past? Surely not, bands change, people grow and by God Mick Box sure knows how to work that guitar. “Outsider” is pure Rock & Roll, unafraid to show where they come from and where they want to be. It’s not classic Uriah Heep, but it’s not by any means old Uriah Heep. They’re still capable of making me lift my feet of the floor.

Score: 8 out of 10
AATR Approved



Track List:

1. Speed Of Sound
2. One Minute
3. The Law
4. The Outsider
5. Rock The Foundation
6. Is Anybody Gonna Help Me?
7. Looking At You
8. Can’t Take That Away
9. Jesse
10. Kiss The Rainbow
11. Say Goodbye

Record Label:
Frontiers Records

Release Date:
June 9th UK, June 6th Rest Of Europe & June 10th North America

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!