Anthrax – XL: A Review

Anthrax – XL: A Review

12th August 2022 0 By Owen Edmonds

Who doesn’t like a bit of Anthrax? Right! And what about an XL version of Anthrax? Yes please.

Such a good live band. And wait… This is a live album? But without a crowd? Huh…. Oh yeah it was a covid livestream, I forgot those things existed.

Now quite often I’ve said that I don’t really like live albums unless I was actually there but I do like the idea of playing music ‘live’. I don’t want music to be overly produced, I want there to be happy little accidents.

How is that going to sound? Read on to find out my thoughts on this rather unique album.

The Review

So, first things first. All the songs that you could want are on this album and to be fair, it sounds exactly just like Anthrax are playing a gig. I’ve seen them live several times and this is just what they sound like. Just without the crowds baying, thrashing, singing and getting involved


Does it work? Uhh yeah. It does. I don’t think it should, but it actually does work. It isn’t the most obvious way of releasing a live album but it works. And that is just weird.

I mean, there’s no crowd but they’ve playing live without a crowd but it’s live. Seriously folks, I spent ages trying to wrap my head around this and I’m still not sure I’ve got it right. But I do like it.

So what are my favourites? Well, I kinda like it all. I mean it’s f-king Anthrax!!

And the good thing about this album is that they are able to play more songs that they would be able to in a normal slot at a festival or as a support act. There is everything from Among The Living to Got The Time, beyond In the End to Bring The Noise and Now It’s Dark. Plus so much more, some of the greatest tunes from one of the originators of Thrash.

I mean what more could you want?

Oh yeah, to actually be in the crowd at this gig.

C’est La Vie.


This album works but in a way that confuses me. It scratches an itch that I didn’t know I had, but it is Anthrax and they are live and that is exactly how this album is portrayed.

If you get the chance to see them live, do it. You won’t be disappointed.

Score 7/10

Track Listing

  1. Time/Fight Em ’Til You Can’t
  2. Madhouse
  3. Caught In A Mosh
  4. Metal Thrashing Mad
  5. Got The Time
  6. I Am The Law
  7. Keep It In The Family
  8. Lone Justice
  9. The Devil You Know
  10. Be All End All
  11. Now It’s Dark
  12. Antisocial
  13. In The End
  14. Medusa
  15. Evil Twin
  16. Indians
  17. Skeletons In The Closet
  18. Blood Eagle Wings
  19. Bring The Noise
  20. A.I.R.
  21. Among The Living
    Label – Nuclear Blast
    Release – 15th July

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 3.8 / 5. Vote count: 4

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!