Bring Me The Horizon’s “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” Album Review

Bring Me The Horizon’s “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” Album Review

27th May 2024 0 By Quinccy

Bring Me The Horizon has once again defied the boundaries of genre with their latest release, “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn.” With a delay of release since last August it’s here, it’s finally here…¬† This album marks the second installment in their ambitious “POST HUMAN” series and showcases a band that is unafraid to evolve and challenge the expectations of their listeners and aren’t scared to experiment with new sounds and collaborations.


The album, which follows the critically acclaimed “POST HUMAN: SURVIVAL HORROR,” was met with anticipation and speculation, especially after the departure of Jordan Fish back in December 2023. Despite these changes, “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” delivers a high energy packed and brilliant collection of songs that solidify Bring Me The Horizon’s place at the forefront of modern rock music and a pioneer of uniqueness.

¬†The album opens with ‘YOUtopia,’ a track that sets a strong tone for the album with its blend of heavy riffs and melodic choruses. It’s a song that speaks to the band’s ability to craft anthems that are both aggressive and uplifting. The track ‘Kool-Aid’ follows suit, offering a high-energy experience that has quickly become a fan favorite with a current staggering 40,048,701 plays on spotify (* at current time of writing this).
One of the most talked-about tracks on the album is ‘DiE4u,‘ which although ‘Kool-aid’ has a staggering 40 million plays – this stands as the most listened-to song on Spotify from the album. This track encapsulates the band’s knack for combining catchy hooks with a darker, more introspective lyrical content. It’s a song that resonates with listeners on multiple levels, making it a standout on the album and a personal favorite of mine.¬†

Another track on the album I would like to hype up is “AmEN!” (Ft. Daryl Palumbo, Glassjaw & Lil Uzi Vert), if this doesn’t showcase the versatility and impressive collaborative skills of Bring Me The Horizon, I don’t know what would. Listening to this track almost took me back to their old work, with an impressive array of vocal talent on this track from all involved.¬†

Other highlights include ‘LosT,’ a hyperpop-infused track that showcases the band’s willingness to experiment with new sounds and ‘a bulleT w- my namE On,’ a collaboration with Underoath that brings a post-hardcore edge to the album. For those who have never heard of Underoath please, please, please go check them out – they are a band I grew up to in my teenage years and a band that made an imprint on my love for music even to this day.¬†

“POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” is a testament to Bring Me The Horizon’s growth as artists and their commitment to pushing the multi-layers of genres. It’s an album that is both a continuation of their previous work and a step into new territory. With its mix of emo, pop-punk, hyper-pop, and post-hardcore elements, the album offers something for fans old and new.

In conclusion, “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” is well worth the wait. We can almost get over the fact that it was delayed for so long… It’s a diverse and dynamic record that showcases Bring Me The Horizon’s ability to adapt and thrive amidst change. Whether you’re a long-time fan or new to the band, this album is a must-listen and a highlight in their discography throughout the bands lifespan.¬†

For those who are interested in exploring the album further, “POST HUMAN: NeX GEn” is available on various streaming platforms, such as apple music and spotify.

Rating: 8.5/10

POST HUMAN: NeX GEn Tracklist:
01. [ost] dreamseeker
02. YOUtopia
03. Kool-Aid
04. Top 10 staTues tHat CriEd bloOd
05. liMOusIne (feat. AURORA)
06. DArkSide
07. a bulleT w/my namE On (feat. Underoath)
08. [ost] (spi)ritual
09. n/A
10. LosT
11. sTraNgeRs
12. R.i.p (duskCOre RemIx)
13. AmEN! (feat. Lil Uzi Vert & Daryl Palumbo of Glassjaw)
14. [ost] puss-e
15. DiE4u
16. DIg It
Label – RCA
Release – 27 Sept

For all things Bring Me The Horizon, click HERE and to purchase the album, click HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!