Cannibal Corpse – Red Before Black Album Review

Cannibal Corpse – Red Before Black Album Review

1st November 2017 0 By Mark Booth

At the top of the Death Metal hierarchy sits CANNIBAL CORPSE and they have to be commended for being there for easily the last 25+ years. Although they did have a few wobbles where they looked like they were going to be dethroned, especially with releases such as ‘Vile’ and ‘Gallery Of Suicide’. This also coincided with George ‘Corpsegrinder’ Fisher replacing original vocalist Chris Barnes as these where his first two releases with CANNIBAL CORPSE. However the band finally all managed to wipe clean their blood stained instruments and finally click together as a solid killing machine and have since gone on to release 7 stellar death metal albums.

CANNIBAL CORPSE are now set to release their 14th studio album ‘Red Before Black’ (their 10th album with George Fisher) on the 3rd November 2017 via Metal Blade.

The album opens with “Only One Will Die” and instantly smashes the listener in the face with a bloody hammer blow and the relentless assault to the senses continue until “Hideous Ichor” final savage butchery finishes with your remains scattered and brains splattered. “Red Before Black” is full of razor sharp and skin shredding riffs, the meaty hooks sodomise your mangled maggot filled skull and is the equivalent of being mummified in barbwire. While the drums pulverise and pound you to dust in a barbaric bludgeoning until your bloody chunks and your skin has turned to liquid leaving a bloodstained cement floor. George ‘Corpsegrinder’ Fisher lyrics vomit forth from the soul and sounds like a strangulation choir who are being forced feed broken glass and subsequently stabbed in the throat. Final the bass splits wide open the listeners rotting head and the bass goes deep as a knife will go until your skewered from ear to eye!

Is “Red Before Black” a death metal masterpiece or CANNIBAL CORPSE best release? No it isn’t but it is a brutal, heavy bloody carcass of a death metal album and shows why CANNIBAL CORPSE are kings of death. The release will make you suffer and it’s as if they’ve made a pact to kill any competition to their bloody throne…long may CANNIBAL CORPSE continue to release brutal albums!


Track Listing

1) Only One Will Die
2) Red Before Black
3) Code Of The Slashers
4) Shedding My Human Skin
5) Remaimed
6) Firestorm Vengeance
7) Heads Shoveled Off
8) Corpus Delicti
9) Scavenger Consuming Death
10) In The Midst Of Ruin
11) Destroyed Without A Trace
12) Hideous Ichor

Label: Metal Blade
Release Date: 3rd November 2017

Follow Cannibal Corpse at the following link for updates, news and tour dates:

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!