22nd March 2023 0 By John Deaux
Renowned music journalist Charlesworth has revised his original text from the 1983 edition of his book and added new Introduction and Aftermath chapters. The new lookbook has been completely redesigned and expanded to almost 500 color pages and now incorporates hundreds of photographs and images, some seen for the first time, including a series of unpublished images from the Made In Japan concerts from 1972.

Researched in 1982 through original interviews with members of Deep Purple, the book covers the period between the band’s formation in 1968 to their eventual break-up in 1976. Forthright and remarkably detailed, it is the ultimate treasure trove of the era when Deep Purple established its legendary status. The book is also personally signed throughout by six of the original band members from this time: David Coverdale, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Glenn Hughes, Ian Paice, and Nick Simper, and comes in two editions, expected to ship at the end of June 2023.
Says Charlesworth: “Over the years I’ve been asked over and over again by fans how they could get hold of my Deep Purple book. It disappeared from the shelves because the printers in Japan – like the Casino in Montreux – burned to the ground, taking the film for the book with it. But now, finally, here it is again, new and improved, with more pictures and more text. I hope you like it.”

Our books are unique. They are not available from shops (unless we say so) and they are designed, printed and bound in the United Kingdom. Above all, they are made with PASSION!

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 3

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!