Depeche Mode announce 12″ vinyl singles collector’s edition box set of ‘Sounds Of The Universe’

Depeche Mode announce 12″ vinyl singles collector’s edition box set of ‘Sounds Of The Universe’

13th June 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

Sony Music Entertainment will continue the Depeche Mode 12″ vinyl singles project with the release of Sounds Of The Universe | The 12″ Singles on 4 August 2023.

Sounds Of The Universe | The 12″ Singles, a deluxe collector’s edition box set, contains seven 12″ vinyl discs presenting singles–including Wrong, Peace, the double A-side Fragile Tension/Hole To Feed–alongside B-sides, remixes, dub versions and other recordings contemporaneous to Depeche Mode’s 12th studio album, Sounds Of The Universe, originally released by Mute Records in April 2009.

Sounds Of The Universe | The 12″ Singles offers a full range of ear-grabbing mixes–radio, club, dub, and more–of Depeche Mode originals with three discs (Discs Two, Four, and Seven) newly compiled for this collection, bringing together B-sides and mixes first released across CD and maxi-singles contemporaneous to the album’s release.

When it came time to record the Sounds Of The Universe album, DM’s classic core (Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, Andrew Fletcher) returned to the studio to make their second album with producer Ben Hillier, whose intuitive contributions to their previous studio album, 2005’s Playing The Angel, had created new sonic possibilities for the band. Sounds Of The Universe expanded Depeche Mode’s vision and repertoire while continuing their tradition of issuing monumental 12″ singles to supplement and complement their album releases.

From their earliest days as a band, Depeche Mode has championed 12″ vinyl, embracing the format’s singular power and potential for innovation. The 12″ single allowed the band to explore new sonic possibilities while the tactile real-world beauty of physical packaging gave Depeche Mode room to develop their consistently sophisticated and commanding design aesthetic. Depeche Mode have used their singles discography as a means of offering fans the opportunity to enjoy left-field remixes, rare B-sides, standout concert performances, and other exclusive delights. 

Sony Music Entertainment released the first two box sets in the Depeche Mode 12″ singles series–Speak & Spell | The Singles and A Broken Frame | The Singles–in August 2018 with the second batch–Construction Time Again | The 12″ Singles and Some Great Reward | The 12″ Singles–arriving in December 2018. SME released Depeche Mode’s Black Celebration | The 12″ Singles and Music For The Masses | The 12″ Singles on 31 May 2019. 2020 saw the release of Violator | The 12″ Singles in July and Songs Of Faith And Devotion | The 12″ Singles in October. The ninth collection in the series, Ultra | The 12″ Singles was released on 27 September 2021 with the tenth volume, Exciter | The 12″ Singles, arriving on 10 June 2022. The 11th volume in the series, Playing The Angel | The 12″ Singles, was released in November 2022.

Each box set in the series contains the singles from an individual Depeche Mode album pressed on audiophile-quality 12″ vinyl. The artwork for the exterior of each of the box sets draws on iconography inspired by the original releases, while the vinyl sleeves themselves feature the original single artwork. 

Sounds Of The Universe | The 12″ Singles is the chronological 12th volume in SME’s Depeche Mode 12″ Singles Series with plans to release Delta Machine and Spirit box sets in similar deluxe audio-grade collector’s editions over the next 12 months.

Pre-order here:

Depeche Mode is currently on the second leg (Europe/UK stadium dates which began May 16 in Amsterdam) of their Memento Mori World Tour in support of the group’s 15th studio album (Memento Mori, released March 2023). Depeche Mode will return to North America for the tour’s third leg, which kicks off September 21 with the first of three shows at Mexico City’s Foro Sol stadium and concludes with a four shows in Los Angeles (December 10 and 12 at the Kia Forum and December 15 and 17 at the Arena).

Depeche Mode – Sounds Of The Universe | The 12″ Singles

Disc One – Wrong (12BONG 40)
A1 Wrong (Album Version)
A2 Wrong (Thin White Duke Remix)
B1 Wrong (Trentemøller Club Remix)
B2 Wrong (Caspa Remix)

Disc Two – Wrong (L12BONG 40)
A1 Wrong (Magda’s Scallop Funk Mix)
A2 Wrong (D.I.M. vs Boys Noize Remix)
B1 Wrong (Trentemøller Club Remix Dub)
B2 Oh Well (Black Light Odyssey Remix)

Disc Three – Peace (12BONG 41)
A1 Peace (Single Version)
A2 Peace (SixToes Remix)
A3 Come Back (Jonsi Remix)
B1 Peace (Ben Klock Remix)
B2 Peace (The Japanese Popstars Remix)

Disc Four – Peace (L12BONG41)
A1 Peace (Sid LeRock Remix)
A2 Peace (Justus Köhncke Extended Disco Club Vocal Remix)
B1 Peace (The Exploding Plastic Inevitable JK Disco Dub)
B2 Peace (Pan/Tone Remix)

Discs Five & Six – Fragile Tension/Hole To Feed (12BONG42)
A1 Fragile Tension (Stephan Bodzin Remix)
A2 Fragile Tension (Kris Menace’s Love On LaserDisc Remix)
B1 Hole To Feed (Popof Vocal Mix)
B2 Hole To Feed (Paul Woolford’s Easyfun Ethereal Disco Mix)
C1 Perfect (Roger Sanchez Club Mix)
C2 Perfect (Ralphi Rosario Dub)
D1 Peace (Hervé’s ‘Warehouse Frequencies’ Remix)
D2 Peace (Sander Van Doorn Remix)

Disc Seven – Fragile Tension/Hole To Feed (L12BONG42)
A1 Fragile Tension (Radio Mix)
A2 Hole To Feed (Radio Mix)
A3 Come Back (SixToes Remix)
A4 Fragile Tension (Laidback Luke Remix)
B1 Fragile Tension (Peter Bjorn And John Remix)
B2 Hole To Feed (Joebot Remix)
B3 Perfect (Ralphi & Craig Club Mix)
B4 Fragile Tension (Solo Loves Panorama Remix)

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 4.5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!