27th March 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

Desert Storm, the four-piece progressive metal band, which has been wielding crushing riffs and grooves into earholes around the world for the past 15 years, release their new album ‘Death Rattle’ this Friday on APF Records. ‘Master of None’ is the 3rd single to be shared from their record, with vocalist Matt Ryan commenting, 

‘Master of None is about having the conviction and belief in yourself to make drastic changes. Set in the framework of the ocean whilst drawing many parallels with the forces of nature. Being impulsive, taking calculated risks, and feeling genuinely invigorated by change. Refusing to stop, rest, or settle, at your “station” in life. Almost obsessively avoiding mediocrity, and in doing so, leaving everything and everyone. Disappearing alone into the unknown to be faced with turbulence. Sheer recklessness, making misguided judgments in the freeform flow, to never be seen again. No gods, no masters.’

Hailing from Oxford, the city of screaming spires, Desert Storm deliver its own unique brand of heavy music. Their sound is loud, punishing, and unforgiving, but also woven with elation and electrical ecstasy.

The album was recorded & mixed at the beautiful Woodworm Studios in Oxfordshire by Steve ‘Geezer’ Watkins. The studio used to be owned by legendary folk band Fairport Convention, and in recent years has seen the likes of Tony Iommi & Rob Halford recording there. 


Once the album was recorded and mixed, it was sent to Portland, Oregon, USA for Brad Boatright at Audiosiege to master (Torche, Nails, High on Fire). The artwork is by David Paul Seymour & layout is by Dominic Sohor.

In some towns, you have a music scene to work with and in others, you have to make the scene around you. Desert Storm built the Oxford scene themselves. Launched into the world in 2007, Desert Storm’s mix of progressive metal and stoner doom was underpinned with a driving, pure rock ‘n’ roll strut. It’s a formula that makes for a reliably arse-kicking band.

After testing the waters with their 2008 self-titled EP, Desert Storm truly came into their own in time for their debut full-length, Forked Tongues in 2010; a radically tighter band on said record and finally beginning to capture the force of their live shows. It’s an upward trend that carried through their two follow-ups Horizontal Life and Omniscient respectively. 

Perhaps that evolution in sound on the record is through their consistency in touring. Always taking their wares on the road, operation Desert Storm has been in full effect on tours with the likes of Karma to Burn and Nashville Pussy, as well as when sharing the stage with bands such as Orange Goblin, Weedeater, and The Atomic Bitchwax. 

By the time of 2018’s Sentinels [APF011], Desert Storm had found a refined sound. With more “oomph” driving the power behind the band than in any previous outing, tastier riffs, and more viscidity throughout the record, it captured a band at the top of their game; road hardened and ready to get stuck in. Whether it’s the springy, stoner stomp of ‘Drifter’, verging on thrash moments seen in ‘Too Far Gone’, or everything in between, this was THE Desert Storm album so far.

But we didn’t bet against them topping those heights when the next album came around, and we were right not to do so. 2020’s Omens became their piece de la resistance. In 2022 Desert Storm won an HRH Award, in the Stoner Lords category, beating off stiff competition from Black Rainbows, Kadavar, and Green Lung.

Unable to tour it due to the pandemic, work commenced on a new record which has resulted in ‘Death Rattle’, their greatest effort yet.

Pre-order the album now –

Over the years Desert Storm have been out on countless headline tours and have toured and shared the stages across the UK & Europe with many incredible bands including Crowbar, Orange Goblin, Karma To Burn, Red Fang, Corrosion of Conformity, CKY, American Headcharge, Conjurer and Raging Speedhorn to name a few.  In 2023 they will tour extensively to support the release of ‘Death Rattle’.


31.03.23 | UK | Oxford | o2 Academy 2

01.04.23 | NL | Arnhem | Willemeen

02.04.23 | BE | Retie | Cafe Bazaar

03.04.23 | DE | Hamburg | Bar 227

05.04.23 | NL | Eindhoven | Effenaar

06.04.23 | DE | Dresden | Chemiefabrik

07.04.23 | CZ | Prague | Modra Vopice

08.04.23 | SK | Kosice | Collosseum

09.04.23 | PL | Katowice | Katofonia

10.04.23 | DE | Furth | Kunstkeller 027

11.04.23 | BE | Antwerp | Kids Rhythm n blues kaffee

19.05.23 | UK | Birmingham | The Darkhorse

20.05.23 | UK | London | The Dome

28.07.23 | UK |Bournemouth | Bear’s Cave

30.07.23 | UK | Bristol | The Gryphon

08.09.23 | NO | Stavanger | Tbc

09.09.23 | NO | Sandnes Tribute

10.09.23 | NO | Oslo | Brewgata

30.09.23 | UK | Manchester | Riffolution Festival

17.11.23 | NL | Amsterdam | The Cave

18.11.23 | NL | Coevorden | MFC

”Desert Storm are one trip you’ll want to get on board with.” Kerrang!

”The hooks are big, the riffs even bigger. ” Metal Hammer

”Produced something unique’ Powerplay

Desert Storm is –

Matthew Ryan – Vocals

Ryan Cole – Guitars

Elliot Cole – Drums & Percussion

Matthew Dennett – Bass






Label page:


How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!