Frank Zappa – Munich ’80 3 LP – Review

Frank Zappa – Munich ’80 3 LP – Review

2nd April 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

Hot on the heels of the Mudd Club ’80 live album comes this triple LP. Recorded in Munich the same year this marks the final show of that summer run of performances. This is also the FIRST direct stereo recording of a Frank Zappa show.
It sounds just as good (if not marginally better) than the Mudd Club album (reviewed HERE) The band is tighter, and Zappa has adjusted some of his guitar parts. If you listen to both albums back to back (I did) you can hear how the band has improved live exponentially.

There is so much joy emanating from all of the band on this triple LP that you can’t help but have a grin on your face as you listen to such tracks as Bobby Brown Goes Down, The Meek Inherit Nothing and Pick Me, I’m Clean.  The tri-fold sleeve is excellent and has extensive liner notes along with a fair few photos taken by George Alper. 

How Frank and the band remember all this crazy music is beyond comprehension. Especially Easy Meat. The studio version is immense but this Munich version is just sensational. Apart from the immense Cosmic Debris, Easy Meat is by far my go-to track from this album. Both of these make the purchase worthwhile. 

The cut and the pressing are phenomenal. The audiophile heavy-weight vinyl helps too. 

To put it quite simply, this is one of (if not) the best Frank Zappa shows from this era. It’s a tremendous set list and a historical document of his genius and incredible satire. Just buy it and you’ll see what I mean.

Score 9/10

Side A
1 Munich ’80 Show Start
2 Chunga’s Revenge
3 Keep It Greasy
4 Pick Me, I’m Clean
Side B
1 City Of Tiny Lites
2 Pound For A Brown
Side C
1 Cosmik Debris
2 You Didn’t Try To Call Me
3 I Ain’t Got No Heart
4 Love Of My Life
5 You Are What You Is
Side D
1 Easy Meat
2 Mudd Club
3 The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
4 Joe’s Garage
5 Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?
Side E
1 Dancin’ Fool
2 Bobby Brown Goes Down
3 Ms. Pinky
4 Stick It Out
Side F
1 Nite Owl (T. Allen)
2 The Illinois Enema Bandit

Label – umC
Release –
31 March 2023

For all things, Frank Zappa, click HERE, and to purchase this double LP, click HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!