15th March 2024 0 By Jon Deaux

Scottish rock squad GUN blast both barrels today, offering fans a new double single – boisterous rock banger “Lucky Guy” and the colossal earworm “Falling“, taken from their upcoming, hot new album Hombres, due out April 12th, 2024 via Cooking Vinyl.


Declared “some of their best songs since Gallus!” by Iron Maiden’s Steve Harris, Hombres is the first album of all new music from the group since 2017’s Favourite Pleasures, which entered the UK official album chart at #16.


Discussing “Lucky Guy”, vocalist Dante Gizzi comments,The song is about a time I had celebrating my birthday in Los Angeles. Having the opportunity to be playing in Gun at that point ,and also at such a young age, it was one of the most surreal and amazing experiences I’ve ever had. I felt like I was the luckiest guy in the world. It’s a reminder that sometimes, the memories we create and cherish in our lives are the greatest gifts anyone can ever have.”


Regarding the origins of “Falling“, Dante explains, “Falling was a song idea that initially came from Jools. I remember him showing me the chords and the melody, and in an instant, I totally got it! I totally fell in love with the idea and he knew that. Whenever this situation happens I have to ask him to leave me to it so I can piece it together the way I hear it in my head, which he wholeheartedly agreed upon. For me, the most important factor of the song was how to make it build the right way. I got so into it, it took just a few hours to finish the demo version which doesn’t really differ that much from the album version.” He concludes, “Probably my favourite song on the album!”


Both tracks are available on all streaming platforms here

The thirteen tracks on ninth studio effort Hombres were recorded and produced by Simon Bloor (Trevor Horn) with mixing by Daryl Thorpe (Foo Fighters). The record boasts guest vocals from Beverley Skeete (Elton John, Chaka Khan, Tom Jones, Johnny Cash), Mary Pearce (Primal Scream, Lionel Ritchie, Chaka Khan) and Sarah-Jane Skeete (Robbie Williams, Kylie Minogue, Bill Wyman) of The Sisterhood on several tracks, as well as a guest performance on the drums from Joe Lazerus of Twin Atlantic.


The album is available in multiple formats as both standard and deluxe editions, including fully signed, on CD, vinyl, cassette, and digitally. Pre-order now here. For an exclusive, limited Blood Records vinyl variant, click here. Bundle orders from the band’s official webstore will include a bonus Live At The Barrowlands CD while stocks last.

Hombres track list


Standard edition

1. All Fired Up

2. Boys Don’t Cry

3. Take Me Back Home

4. Fake Life

5. Falling

6. You Are What I Need

7. Never Enough

8. Don’t Hide Your Fears Tonight

9. Lucky Guy

10. A Shift In Time


Deluxe edition

11. Coming Back To You

12. Wrong To Be Right

13. Pride

GUN have recently announced nine UK in-store events, where fans can meet Dante & Jools from the band, get their new copy of Hombres signed, and watch a special, stripped-back performance.


Don’t miss the following events:

Fri 12th Apr – GLASGOW Assai – 6pm

Sat 13th Apr – DUNDEE Assai – 5pm

Sun 14th Apr – EDINBURGH Assai – 4pm

Mon 15th Apr – INVERNESS HMV – 5pm

Tue 16th Apr – ABERDEEN HMV – 5pm

Wed 17th Apr – LIVINGSTON HMV – 12pm

Wed 17th Apr – AYR HMV – 4pm

Thu 18th Apr – STIRLING HMV – 4pm

Fri 19th Apr – BURY Wax & Beans – 4pm

Find GUN Online

X  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube  TikTok  Web

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!