Static Abyss (Chris Reifert & Greg Wilkinson of Autopsy) announce new album ‘Aborted From Reality’

Static Abyss (Chris Reifert & Greg Wilkinson of Autopsy) announce new album ‘Aborted From Reality’

21st April 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

Today, the duo of Greg Wilkinson and Chris Reifert reveal the first slab of Death Doom to come in the form of their new single ‘Wormskinned’ from forthcoming new album ‘Aborted From Reality’ out June 30th. Wasting no time following the 2022 release the band return with their otherworldly Venn diagram of Death Doom and Crust sounds and set their sights once more on their new album ‘Aborted From Reality’

Although a relatively new act itself, Static Abyss comprises of longstanding members of the US metal scene. The band consists of the duo of Greg Wilkinson (Guitars/bass) & Chris Reifert (drums/vocals), both members of legendary American masters of sickness Autopsy, with Greg (also of cult act Deathgrave) recently becoming the band’s new permanent bass player for the band’s ‘Morbidity Triumphant’ opus.

Aborted From Reality’ follows swiftly on from Static Abyss’ 2022 debut, ‘Labyrinth of Veins’; itself a wild and contagious ride through a nightmarish soundscape. This album presents a stark contrast between a brutal wall of riffs and crawling darkly hypnotic guitar leads burying themselves under the skin, and combines for a sick and unnerving experience through Death Metal combined with Crust and Doom elements. Chris’ unmistakable vocals come spewing from the depths of insanity in this soundtrack to an anxiety-filled dimension, backing up the twisted riffs from Greg’s own cauldron of mental chaos.

Aborted from Reality’ was recorded at Earhammer Studios in Oakland, CA , with engineering, mixing and mastering overseen by Greg himself. Following on from the debut release, cover art appears once again courtesy of All Things Rotten.

The album announcement is also accompanied by the first single to come from the new record, titled ‘Wormskinned’. Alongside this, an animated lyric video was created by Matthew Vickerstaff to bring the wretched universe of the album’s anxiety-inducing milieu to life. The video gives us a look into the nightmarish landscape of ‘Wormskinned’. Musically the song moves between barbaric tremolo picking to a surefooted groove with a dash of gloom courtesy of their haunting twin guitar harmonies.

Speaking on the single the band had the following to say: 

“Sometimes becoming the undisputed king or queen of filth, disease, and dirt are worth selling your soul for. When you are in that ravenous state of mind, nothing else matters. It happens all the time. 

Aborted From Reality track listing: 

1-     Aborted From Reality

2-     Wormskinned

3-     Cathedral of Vomit

4-     Cerebral Ghost

5-     Mind Tentacles

6-     Poisoned Limbs

7-     Horizon of Cremains

8-     Crosses and Coffins

9-     Unrepentant Mutant Serpent 

10-  Dehumanized

11-  The Static Abyss

The album will be available in multiple formats that include CD, black vinyl, ‘Toxic Green’ Vinyl as well as digitally. Pre-order copies of the record here 

Static Abyss online:


How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!