The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Los Angeles Forum – April 26th 1969 – CD Review

The Jimi Hendrix Experience – Los Angeles Forum – April 26th 1969 – CD Review

20th December 2022 0 By Jon Deaux

I never tire of listening to The Jimi Hendrix Experience  Are You Experienced ? L.P. It’s such an incredible life-changing album. Not just because of the track Are You Experienced, but the introductions to the classics of Purple Haze, Manic Depression, Red House and of course Foxey Lady.

The Los Angeles Forum album has NEVER been released in its entirety until now. This is just under 80 minutes of sheer unadulterated, free-form expressionism at its finest and that’s just the track Tax Free. A 14-minute jam fest just to get you in the mood for Foxey Lady.

Jimi messes around between tracks tuning up and bantering with the audience. Half of which have probably never witnessed such a spectacle. 

What’s lovely about this record is the sound quality. It’s superb. Crystal clear low crowd noise and the band are on fire. Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding are sat right in the pocket whilst Jimi obviously do what Jimi does best, beats that guitar into absolute submission. 

Hendrix introduces his incendiary version of The Star Spangled Banner by calling it ‘a song we were all brainwashed with’ it abruptly ends after a couple of minutes before heading straight into Purple Haze. Of course, Jimi can’t help but play with the lyrics as usual.

The show ends with a 17-minute medley of Voodoo Child and the Cream classic, Sunshine Of Your Love.

I absolutely adore this concert and unlike the many of the same shite that has dominated the Hendrix live catalogue, this is of top-notch quality and a must-have.

Score 8/10


  1. Intro

  2. Tax Free

  3. Foxey Lady

  4. Red House

  5. Spanish Castle Magic

  6. Star Spangled Banner

  7. Purple Haze

  8. I Don’t Live Today

  9. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

  10. Sunshine of Your Love

  11. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

Label – Legacy Recordings
– 8th November 2022

For all things, Jimi Hendrix, click HERE and to  purchase the album, click HERE

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!