TRUE CRIME DUO SKYND SHARE NEW SINGLE & VIDEO “EDMUND KEMPER”

TRUE CRIME DUO SKYND SHARE NEW SINGLE & VIDEO “EDMUND KEMPER”

19th June 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

Industrial-tinged and true crime-inspired electronic duo SKYND is the dark creative outlet and the alter ego of its lead singer, Skynd, and producer and multi-instrumentalist Father. They are known for taking inspiration from inexplicable and brutal criminal cases and the mystery surrounding unsolved deaths and transforming them into songs to remind us of the darkness within the human psyche while taking great care to avoid any glorification. Small clusters of songs have been released as EPs, titled in numbered chapters.

Today, SKYND concludes Chapter IV, with the release of the new single “Edmund Kemper” & its accompanying video, directed by Anique Wild. The song features a mysterious, renowned, and revered international guitarist as a special guest.¬†¬†

Often asked why each particular case, Skynd comments, “There is a detail to this story that stuck with me and sparked my creativity to write about Edmund¬†Kemper. As a young boy Edmund liked to play with Barbie dolls & dolls. He “took‚Äú their heads off and that made a sound like a “pop‚Äú, performing funeral rites. While translating true crime cases into music I have a visual idea of the song, and the dolls had to be in the video. It was important to me to show the beheading of the doll because it illustrates his crimes, without being too gratuitous.”

Director Anique Wild adds, “I had the great honor to translate Skynd’s new song into a visual world. A hardly believable story of a brutal monster who could not appear more normal in the outside world. The video is meant to convey the values of this song in an artistic, visual way. Find the story behind the story – try to look behind the curtain.”

SKYND recently wrapped up a mesmerizing, extensive tour across Europe including the UK with ICE NINE KILLS. Now, SKYND can reveal its first set of European headline dates for November 2023, comprising 19 shows across 11 countries.  

Skynd states archly, ‚ÄúWe brought The Dark Place to the Wurst Vacation Tour with Ice Nine Kills. Now we invite you to delve deeper, if you dare…‚ÄĚ

Fans who sign up to the SKYND mailing list will get an exclusive ticket pre-sale starting tomorrow! Tickets go on general sale at 10 am local time on Wednesday 21st June for the following performances: 

Wednesday 1st November – Warsaw PL – Proxima

Thursday 2nd November – Wroclaw PL – Kwadrat

Friday 3rd November – Leipzig DE – UT Connewitz

Saturday 4th November – Prague CZ – Sasazu

Monday 6th November – Vienna AT – Arena

Tuesday 7th November – Bologna IT – Locomotiv Club

Wednesday 8th November – Munich DE – Technikum

Friday 10th November – Berlin DE – Hole 44

Saturday 11th November – Copenhagen DK – Vega

Sunday 12th November – Malmo SE – Plan B

Monday 13th November – Stockholm SE – Slaktkyrkan

Wednesday 15th November – Oslo NO – Parkteateret

Friday 17th November – Hamburg DE – Gruenspan

Saturday 18th November – Utrecht NL – De Helling

Sunday 19th November – Cologne DE – Kantine

Tuesday 21st November – Frankfurt DE – Batschkapp

Wednesday 22nd November – Antwerp BE – Trix Club

Thursday 23rd November – Strasbourg FR – La Laiterie Club

Friday 24th November – Paris FR – Le Trabendo

Saturday 25th November – Lille FR – Le Black Lab

UK fans can catch SKYND this summer, when SKYND headline the Sophie Lancaster stage at Bloodstock Festival on Thursday 10th August. Get Bloodstock tickets here.

To buy tickets for the European headline tour and for a full list of SKYND performances, visit: https://skynd-music.com/live/.

 

 

Official Websites:

https://skynd-music.com/

https://store.skynd-music.com/

Listen on Spotify

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  Youtube   

 

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!