VOLA Announce First Live Release, ‘Live From The Pool’ Out: 1 April 2022 Via: Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group

VOLA Announce First Live Release, ‘Live From The Pool’ Out: 1 April 2022 Via: Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group

27th January 2022 0 By Jon Deaux

Danish-Swedish quartet VOLA have announced their first-ever live release, Live From The Pool. It will be released on 1st April via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group and will be available on CD + Blu-ray, mint green vinyl and digitally. 

In September 2021, VOLA performed an intimate show in a stunning live setting. ‘Live From The Pool’ took place at the swimming pool of the abandoned Auderød military camp in North Zealand near Copenhagen, Denmark. Designed by the world-famous architect Henning Larsen this defunct building has become part of the Auderød nature park. A place where nature encounters the mysteries of a once existing military base, ready to be explored.


Creating a unique experience, the bands’ genre-melding music collaborates with visionary Danish audio-visual artist collective Vertigo, where light, nature, music, and concrete meet.


Talking about the show, Nicolai Mogensen says, “The idea for ‘Live From The Pool’ was conceived at a time where it was particularly hard to be a band with an international fanbase. Due to the Covid-19-pandemic making live shows and touring practically impossible, we were forced to think carefully and creatively about how to reach our listeners in new ways. We wanted to do something spectacular that didn’t seem like a compromise – and with loads of help from talented people, we think we succeeded in creating an online concert experience out of the ordinary.”


He continues, “‘Live From The Pool’ is the biggest production we have ever made as a band, and it was very exciting for us to work with such an extensive set-up. We filmed the entire concert, featuring both new and old material, at an abandoned indoor swimming pool with five cameras and a drone, the scenery lit up by a beautiful light installation, custom-made for this show by the Danish audio-visual artist collective Vertigo.”


The show features incredible performances from their back catalogue, including “Alien Shivers,” “Stray The Skies,” “Whaler,” “Ghosts”, as well as songs from their latest album Witness. Fans outside Denmark can hear new songs such as “Straight Lines,” “These Black Claws,” Head Mounted Sideways”, and more live for the first time.

Track Listing

  1. 24 Light-Years
  2. Alien Shivers
  3. Head Mounted Sideways
  4. Straight Lines
  5. Ruby Pool
  6. Owls
  7. These Black Claws ft. SHAHMEN
  8. Gutter Moon (October Session)
  9. Ghosts
  10. Smartfriend
  11. Whaler
  12. Inside Your Fur
  13. Stray The Skies

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!