PRIMITIVE RACE – ‘Soul Pretender’ : new album featuring Chuck Mosley and Dale Crover out 03.11.17

PRIMITIVE RACE – ‘Soul Pretender’ : new album featuring Chuck Mosley and Dale Crover out 03.11.17

9th October 2017 0 By John Deaux

Primitive Race return with a new album entitled ‘Soul Pretender’ in November. Helmed by producer/ bassist Chris Kniker (Revolting Cocks, Lords Of Acid), the group has recruited former Faith No More singer Chuck Mosley on lead vocals and Melvins drummer Dale Crover for the ten song collection.“When I listened to the music, ideas just came pouring out,” says Mosley, “I couldn’t say no to doing the record. When we completed the first few tracks, I found myself wishing I had written them. Not just the lyrics…just good heavy riffs and grooves really sucked me in. The melodies and words came super easy with this music. Even though it’s a whole different vibe it brought out a side of me haven’t experienced since writing with Faith No More.”

The band, which had been something of an international industrial supergroup with a rotating cast that included members who had done time with the likes of Gary Numan, Tricky, The Mission, Peter Murphy, Spear Of Destiny, KMFDM, PIG, Skinny Puppy, Nitzer Ebb, Pop Will Eat Itself and Combichrist, originally took on an industrial bent simply because of the talent involved. For the new record, Kniker approached the release with a more focused eye, bringing in Mosley and Crover who sing/drum throughout the release, along with engineer Toshi Kasai (Melvins, Big Business) and mastering by Maor Appelbaum (Faith No More).

“During the recording of the first Primitive Race album there was a natural shift from the industrial sound of our collective histories towards something more fluid and punk,” explains Kniker. “It was something I really wanted to explore with Mark and Erie, knowing we wanted something raw and organic with big, loud live drums as we began working on the new songs. Chuck and I met when he was writing his VUA record. I ran into him last summer at a show and we started talking about making a record. He really got where I was going with the whole concept. I knew he could bring some of that to the record and still put his own stamp on it. I never in a million years thought Dale would do the record. He’s one of my favourite drummers! We run in a similar circle. The Warlock Pinchers were signed to Boner Records back when Melvins were there. Mark from the Pinchers reached out to Dale for me and I was talking to Toshi [Dale’s engineer and production partner]. 

Toshi shared the demos with Dale and the next thing I know Toshi is asking for the multi-tracks. A few years ago, Melvins did a KMFDM remix for a record I was working on so it’s cool to have that connection again. This record is completely different from the first one and I think it’s cool that we get a blank canvas to do whatever we want with Primitive Race.”

’Soul Pretender’ is the second album by Primitive Race. It follows an EP, ‘Long In The Tooth’, and the band’s self-titled debut album, both released in 2015 on Metropolis Records.  The line-up for ‘Soul Pretender’ is :
Chuck Mosley – vocals
Erie Loch – guitar, bass, programming 
Mark Gemini Thwaite – guitar, bass, programming 
Chris Kniker – bass  
Dale Crover – drums


1 Row House
2 Cry Out
3 Cranial Matter
4 Take It All
5 Bed Six
6 Stepping Stone
7 Turn It Up
8 Soul Pretender
9 Nothing To Behold
10 Dancing On The Sun

All songs written, arranged and performed by Chris Kniker, Mark Thwaite, Chuck Mosley, Erie Loch
Produced by Chris Kniker, Mark Thwaite, Erie Loch
Co-produced by Joe Haze