AATR Premier – MERIDIAN – “Easy Lover” official video

AATR Premier – MERIDIAN – “Easy Lover” official video

23rd October 2020 0 By Jon Deaux

Denmark’s melodic heavy rockers MERIDIAN are releasing the final video and single from their new EP “Taking Cover”, coming out on October 23rd via Mighty Music.


The song is a cover of the Phil Collins and Philip Bailey hit, “Easy Lover”.


Each member of the band picked one song for the EP, and this one is chosen by singer Lars Märker who says: “I chose this song because I listened a lot to it in my youth and it always made me happy. I like the melody in the song and think it’s one of the best duets ever made. I thought it could be fun to do a duet with Martin from the band. I like our version, we did make it our own, but still in respect of the original”.


Why covers? – Just for the fun of it!


It happens to most bands. It certainly happens a lot in this band. Warming up at rehearsals someone starts playing a cool riff from the good old days. – Everybody joins in on the jam and 30 seconds later everybody stops, laugh and someone says “That’s a cool song. We should make a cover of that someday”. Most often, that day never comes, but sometimes it does. Last year when the band finished recording the “Margin Of Error” album, one of the songs reminded Mighty Music CEO, Michael H. Andersen, of one of the greatest Danish bands from the 80’s, Skagarack, – and he suggested the band should do a cover of one of their songs.


The idea stuck for a while, and the band decided that once they gathered in the studio, they could just as well record a couple of songs and make a covers EP – just for the fun of it! Choosing the songs was not easy. Every discussion always ended with over 20 good suggestions. So the band applied some rules. Each member should pick one song, and nobody could argue against it. So here we are, with six classic rock and pop songs from the 80’s, grinded through the Meridian machine, twisted a little bit to suit the Meridian sound and playing style, but still paying respect to the well-known originals.


All six songs are released as digital singles over the summer, and the EP will be available on October 23rd of 2020.

“Taking Cover” is recorded at Death Island Studios.

Produced, mixed and mastered by Marco Angioni.

EP cover photo by Lena Angioni.



Lars Märker: vocals

Martin J. Andersen: guitars & vocals

Marco Angioni: guitars & keyboards

Peter Bruun: bass

Klaus Agerbo: drums



Official site

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!