AATR PREMIER – VANSIND “Grib Til Våben” official video

AATR PREMIER – VANSIND “Grib Til Våben” official video

8th September 2023 0 By Jon Deaux

“Grib Til Våben” (A Call To Arms) is the first single from VANSIND‘s upcoming debut album “Mørket”, to be released this year on Mighty Music. A song about the Scandinavian people’s journeys towards the highlands in the north, “Grib Til Våben” tells a tale of a cunning attack under the cover of darkness, which the attacking Vikings had expected would go as easily as when they took England in the south. But it is also the story of a brave people with a strong leader who grows into the role of her people’s true hero and ruler. On the coast, one will discover the beauty of the elusive thistle, which at first glance seems harmless, but which will always defend itself and draw blood from those too proud to respect it. Similarly, the Scottish clansmen will defend themselves to the death and will certainly not surrender until the final battle is decided. 


With the defining sound of the bagpipes, which brings to mind the wild heather of the highlands and the rugged Scottish coastal landscapes, combined with the hard-hitting rhythmic folk-metal sound, Vansind once again shows themselves from the melodic and at the same time dark and heavy side.


After a very promising EP released back in 2021 and a handful of singles that sparked folk metal fans’ enthusiasm – especially the Scandinavian strain – VANSIND is finally ready to release its debut album, “Mørket”. With their feet planted firmly in the Danish soil, the band provides a solid soundtrack for battle, chain dance and raised horns with melodies inspired by folk music that meets solid metal, rumbling growls, and clean female singing. The lyrical themes are inspired by the darker side of Nordic mythology and Scandinavian history. 


Where the glimmer of the eye meets the glimpse of the sword you’ll find Vansind. And, if you enter the dance, maybe you’ll get a glimpse of Valhal too. 


Vansind was formed in the summer of 2019 as a folk-inspired metal band. The band is based in Slagelse, Denmark, though the members are from all over the country. Just as the members’ geographical difference their musical background is also vastly different (with members of Panzerchrist, Iron Fire, Vanir, Detest, and Mindmare gracing the lineup), they share their love for the music and a wish to add something special to the Danish folk scene. This year alone they graced festivals such as Næstved Metalfest, Asgaard Rock Festival, Warhorns Festival (UK), Hörnerfest (DE) and Burning Q Festival (DE) and they’re now set sailing for a bigger conquering trip with their amazing debut studio album. 


“Mørket” will be released on LP (black vinyl, limited to 300) and digital formats via Mighty Music on November 17th, 2023.



Asgaard – vocals

Line Burglin – vocals

Kirk Backarach – guitars

Mikael Christensen – bass

Rikke Klint Johansen – keyboards, tinwhistles, bagpipes

Danni Lyse Jelsgaard – drums


Digital single:













How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!