Brian Setzer 10th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue of Setzer Goes Instru-MENTAL!

Brian Setzer 10th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue of Setzer Goes Instru-MENTAL!

14th May 2021 0 By Jon Deaux

Surfdog Records and Brian Setzer have announced the vinyl reissue Setzer Goes Instru-MENTAL! on the 10th Anniversary of it’s original release. It will be released on limited-edition 180-gram, yellow splatter vinyl on 30th July 2021.
You can pre-order the album here
Originally released in April 2011, Setzer Goes Instru-MENTAL! was Brian Setzer’s first ever instrumental album and earned him a Grammy Award Nomination for “Best Pop Instrumental Album.”
The album featured covers such as Bill Monroe and The Blue Grass Boys “Blue Moon of Kentucky,” a song covered by Elvis Presley in 1954 as the B-Side of his debut single “That’s All Right.” Talking to MusicRadar on the release Setzer said, “I was working off the Elvis version, the whole Scotty Moore thing. It’s a traditional bluegrass song, so I put some jazz chords behind it. All of a sudden, I had something unique. That’s what makes it worthy. You can’t do it better than Elvis!”
He gives his own stamp on other classics such as Ray Noble’s “Cherokee,” Gene Vincent’s “Be-Bop-A-Lula” and Gene Austin and Nathaniel Shilkret’s “Lonesome Road.” You also ride the road with Setzer originals such as “Hillbilly Jazz Meltdown,” “Far Noir East” and “Go-Go Godzilla” which was accompanied by a hot-rockin’ adventure filled animated video

Produced by Dave Darling and Setzer at IPR Studios and Winterland Studios in Minneapolis, MN  the trio is completed  by Johnny Hatton (double bass) and Noah Levy (drums).

1. Blue Moon of Kentucky
2. Cherokee
3. Be-Bop-A-Lula
4. Earl’s Breakdown
5. Far Noir East
6. Intermission
7. Go-Go Godzilla
8. Lonesome Road
9. Hillbilly Jazz Meltdown
10. Hot Love
11. Pickpocket

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!