Envy Of None, the new band featuring Alex Lifeson (Rush), unveil animated video for ‘That Was Then’

Envy Of None, the new band featuring Alex Lifeson (Rush), unveil animated video for ‘That Was Then’

14th June 2023 0 By John Deaux

In celebration of the release of their new EP ‘That Was Then, This Is Now’, Envy of None have revealed a beautiful and striking new video. Recalling the idea of retro Pop Art genius Roy Lichtenstein seen through the lens of a psychedelic graphic novel in the beautiful clip’s vibrant and stylistic imagery. 

Created by Olivier Boscovitch (YouTube / Instagram), who has previously worked with David Guetta, the artist was handpicked by Andy Curran, to create a video that was inspired by Maiah Wynne’s lyrics representing both a metaphorical and literal chase.

  LISTEN / ORDER HERE – https://EnvyOfNone.lnk.to/TWTTIN
Andy Curran comments: 

The video was created by the super-talented Olivier Boscovitch. I discovered some of his work online and reached out to him and he loved the song ‘That Was Then’. He was inspired by the dark and haunting lyrics that Maiah wrote for the song. He pitched the concept of a girl riding a chopper and traveling through a fictional trippy landscape, basically her life while being chased by a bad assed villain in a muscle car. The driver of the car represents the person in our lives that we’re getting away from. Olivier’s amazing graphics are a testament to his unique creativity, we’re very lucky to be working with him. 

He continues:

I’m super proud of the new song, Ty Dennis played a killer drum track that breathed new life into the song and we’re very grateful that Alex reached out to him. I think the track itself shows real growth for Envy of None. It’s like we’ve hit our stride creatively and a nice marker to punctuate that our first record was not a one-and-done thing. It really opened the floodgates for us writing wise and we’re well on our way to a 2nd record.

‘That Was Then, This Is Now’ track listing:

1 – Lethe River

2 – You’ll Be Sorry

3 – Dog’s Life (Remix)

4 – Dumb (Der Dummkopf Remix)

5 – That Was Then

The all-star lineup of Alex Lifeson , Andy Curran, Maiah Wynne and Alf Annibalini, continue their exponential growth of their trippy, edgy atmospheric sound that took the world by surprise. The new EP is made up of very adventurous tracks that consist of remixes of ‘Dumb’ and ‘Dog’s Life’. Alongside ‘Lethe River’ and ‘You’ll Be Sorry’ only previously released on the deluxe edition of their debut record.

Following these, the EP culminates with a newly recorded track ‘That Was Then’. The song undulates with progressive dexterity and is a perfect example of the unbound writing ability this incredible band showcases.

All tracks were written, arranged, recorded, and produced by Envy of None.

‘That Was Then, This Is Now’ remains in canon with the band’s sound of their eponymous debut whilst also pushing the boundaries and is a fantastic prologue to the next chapter of Envy of None’s story as the band has been in the studio creating new music and remixes.

An essential addition to their repertoire.


Alex Lifeson

Andy Curran

Maiah Wynne

Alf Annibalini 








How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!