ESP 2.0 – New 22 LAYERS OF SUNLIGHT Album released April 20th

ESP 2.0 – New 22 LAYERS OF SUNLIGHT Album released April 20th

7th March 2018 0 By John Deaux


“ESP is a light disguise for Tony Lowe and Mark Brzezicki, and while the latter may be more familiar from Big Country, Lowe enjoys credentials as guitarist / producer for names such as Roger Daltrey, Julian Lennon and David Cross. From the first moments of ‘Overture’ it’s apparent we’re dealing with quality, with punchy drums, the strains of analogue synths, woodwind courtesy of VdGG’s David Jackson (who appears beside John Young, Steve Gee and more here), and guitar interwoven in a bold, expansive statement of intent… As a new force on the symphonic prog block, ‘Invisible Din’ is as good an opening salvo as you’re likely to get” (Gary McKenzie, Prog Magazine January 2017).

Vocalist Peter Coyle (ex-Lotus Eaters) has joined forces with renowned composer / producer / guitarist Tony Lowe and ace session drummer Mark Brzezicki to record ESP 2.0’s superlative, uplifting new album ‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’, set for release on the Sunn Creative label on April 20th.

‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’, the follow up to the collective’s highly acclaimed ‘ESP Invisible Din’ debut album, released late in 2016, is an even more accomplished body of work which raises the bar way, way higher than its predecessor. Each and every one of the deeply evocative and stunningly original songs contained on ‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’ merges passionate vocals and intricate soundscapes, often with complex rhythmic structures, all overlaid with modern progressive rock elements and orchestral movements.

Peter Coyle, who created the concept and wrote the lyrics for ‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’, states that “Making music is the deepest part of our lives…it takes just over a second for the light from the moon to reach us…it takes a lifetime to share the wonder of that with others…and that is what we feel we have done with ‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’”

ESP 2.0 have lined up a series of gigs prior to and ensuing the release of ‘22 Layers Of Sunlight’ which was recorded with bassist Pete Clark and keyboardist Richard Smith, who will complete the live band line-up at the following shows:-

17th April         LONDON The Half Moon Putney

21st April         WINCHESTER The Railway Inn

11th May          MILTON KEYNES The Stables

6th July            FROME Merlin Theatre (Somerset)

15th July          BILSTON The Robin 2

20th July          BOX The Queens Head (Wiltshire)

Peter Coyle, who formed The Lotus Eaters, in 1982, is best known for his international hit ‘The First Picture Of You’, which still enjoys regular airplay on many radio shows today. Peter, who left the Lotus Eaters in early 2017, has also written and recorded with Toyah, The Lightning Seeds’ Ian Broudie, Space’s David Yorkie Palmer, OMD’s Mal Holmes and Heaven 17’s Martyn Ware. Tony Lowe has played guitar with such artists as Julian Lennon, Roger Daltrey, Simon Townshend and The Pet Shop Boys, while as a producer he has worked with the likes of Bram Stoker, David Cross & Robert Fripp, John Foxx, Toyah, Chris Gray, Simon Townshend and more. Big Country drummer Mark Brzezicki has also worked with Phil Collins, Sting, Procol Harum, The Cult and Midge Ure.

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!