InsideOutMusic News: 25th anniversary digital compilation launched

InsideOutMusic News: 25th anniversary digital compilation launched

2nd July 2018 0 By Jon Deaux

InsideOutMusic, the leading force in today’s progressive rock scene, celebrate their 25th anniversary of being a label in 2018, in what will be one of their biggest and busiest yet. Now they launch a specially priced, 35-track digital compilation, giving a glimpse of what InsideOut have been doing for the past few years. The collection features tracks from label mainstays like Devin Townsend Project, Steve Hackett, Spock’s Beard, Riverside, Enchant & The Tangent, as well as newer bands like Bent Knee, Caligula’s Horse, Perfect Beings & Sons of Apollo. Download/stream the compilation here:

As previously announced, to coincide with the anniversary, two of their longest serving artists, Spock’s Beard & Roine Stolt’s The Flower King’s, will head out on a European co-headline tour in Winter 2018.

You can find the full list of dates below:

30th November – Cosmopolite, Oslo, Norway

1st December – Kulturhuset Studion, Stockholm, Sweden

2nd December – KB, Malmo, Sweden

4th December – Zeche, Bochum, Germany

5th December – Z7, Pratteln, Switzerland

6th December – La Machine, Paris, France

7th December – De Boerderij, Zoetermeer, Netherlands

8th December – Hedon, Zwolle, Netherlands

9th December – Islington Assembly Hall, London, UK

10th December – Academy Club, Manchester, UK

Formed back in 1993 in Kleve, Germany, the label made their name with acts such as Enchant, Spock’s Beard, Symphony X & The Flower Kings, many of whom they still work with now – a rarity in this day and age. Since that time, the label has played a key & continued role in the survival and resurgence of progressive rock in recent years, and has always prided itself on shining a light on leftfield music. Now the band count some of the biggest & most exciting bands amongst their roster, including Dream Theater, Steve Hackett, Devin Townsend, Sons of Apollo, Kansas, Haken, Riverside, Leprous & more. On the label’s 20th anniversary back in 2013, one of the labels founders, and current label-head Thomas Waber was given the Guiding Light award at the Progressive Music Awards, praising his aforementioned role in the continued celebration of progressive rock.

Many of InsideOut’s longest running relationships will see new albums released in the labels 25th year, including Spock’s Beard’s 13th album ‘Noise Floor’, a new collaborative project called The Sea Within that features Roine Stolt, Daniel Gildenlow & Jonas Reingold (all veterans of the label), a landmark live album from Devin Townsend filmed at a special performance at a Roman Theatre in Bulgaria, a new studio album from Riverside & much more.

This year will also see InsideOut release a whole host of lavish catalogue releases throughout 2018, including the second part of The Flower Kings ‘A Kingdom of Colours’ CD boxsets, a series of Devin Townsend high-end vinyl boxes, a CD collection covering the whole of Enchant’s illustrious career, & much more yet to be announced.

The Progressive Music Awards 2018 recently announced their nominations, with InsideOutMusic seeing 10 nominations in total, including Spock’s Beard for best international artist, as well as nods for Perfect Beings, Toundra, PFM, Sons of Apollo, Kino, Leprous & Caligula’s Horse. Find more details here:

Watch out for more news throughout 2018!




How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!