LEAVES’ EYES release their ‘The Last Viking (Midsummer Edition)’ on 17th September, out on AFM Records.

LEAVES’ EYES release their ‘The Last Viking (Midsummer Edition)’ on 17th September, out on AFM Records.

27th August 2021 0 By John Deaux

England in the year 1066. The decisive battle near Stamford Bridge. Warriors fighting death, the grounds soaked in blood. Norway’s king Harald III, called Hardrada („the hard ruler“) lies dying. His whole life flashes before his eyes: cruel wars, fights over power, journeys to exotic worlds guiding to powerful women, emperors and kings falling into ruin. The last Viking King is dead – the Vikings’ age is over. Long live the Vikings.

“The Last Viking” is the 2020-monumental-piece of LEAVES’ EYES. The setting of the symphonic metal masterpiece couldn’t be more tremendous. With their cult-albums “Vinland Saga” (2005) and “King of Kings” (2015) they already turned Leif Erikssons discovery of America and the life of Norway’s first king into music. Now, LEAVES’ EYES bring the Viking Sagas to their bombastic finale.
As always, LEAVES’ EYES attach importance to historical accuracy. History books were devoured, sagas had to be studied. “Some tv dramas or blockbusters make me smirk when I see the Viking Sagas turned upside down. We don’t mess around in mythology!” promises Alexander Krull (vocals), again responsible for conception and lyrics. “The Last Viking” itself would make a great screenplay. The sagas of Hardrada are full of drama, emotions and the everlasting fights for power. “The Last Viking” is the epic soundtrack to the mythical world of Viking adventures.
No doubt: all the musicians exactly know which buttons to push to play out all the strengths of LEAVES’ EYES. The energetic compositions proof the ingenious skills of the song writing duo Thorsten Bauer (guitars) und Alexander Krull (vocals). Straightforward and consequently they follow the line that already has garnered a significant worldwide fan base. Their die-hard followers will be more than pleased with “Break Into The Sky”, acting as a best-of track combining all of the bands’ musical qualities: enthralling song structures, touching melodies and a mystic aura.
All the 14 tracks individually impress with their unique build-up, rhythm and atmosphere. Mighty drums, Mediaeval instruments like nyckelharpa and fiddle and Celtic horns add spice to the diversified sound. The mystic elegy “Two Kings One Realm” surprises with yet unheard facets. The dark-pop ethno sound wouldn’t be expected from Germany’s symphonic-metal band no. 1. Mastermind Alexander Krull delivers a thrilling, fresh and razor-sharp audio production adding distinctiveness, dynamic and roughness to the sound of LEAVES’ EYES. The new versions of the immediately sold out EP “Night Of The Ravens“, “Serkland“ und “Black Butterfly“ make these tracks an all new adventure. The latter surprises with powerful guest vocals of the French rock sensation Clémentine Delauney (Visions of Atlantis, Exit Eden) that terrifically bring the smash-hit to new life.
In a over 100 minutes long documentary (incl. the new bonus chapter) you will learn everything about the focus and the diversity of Viking lifestyle. With subtitles in German, English, French and Spanish, all Viking fans can experience for themselves how incredibly international the scene is nowadays! The documentary shows with a surprising ease the diversity of Viking reenactment and gives you the desire to plunge into this hobby yourself!
Stream the documentary here:
Part 1: https://youtu.be/-0Vj7EnDcdE
Part 2: https://youtu.be/IMxhmIRM3Ik
Part 3: https://youtu.be/fG7XmFvmpBY

LEAVES’ EYES have always played in a league of their own. They have toured all populated continents, frequently reach top positions in the album charts and with every output they deliver a multimedia masterpiece when it comes to video clips and artwork. With “The Last Viking” they surpass their own standards with the original film documentary “Viking Spirit”. Filmed worldwide, the growing Viking re-enactment scene will be visually praised here. Fronter Alex and the band became part of this community, long ago. With this film, historical facts merge with Nordic mythology, Viking-lifestyle and the sounds of LEAVES’ EYES, featuring friends and companions of the Viking scene. A long awaited complement to their body of work.

Of course, “The Last Viking” won’t be the closure of LEAVES’ EYES – it only fuels expectations what these geniuses will come up next with. With “The Last Viking” Leaves’ Eyes set up their own musical monument that is just as captivating and strong as the saga of the last Viking King itself.
(Author: Robert SuĂź)

Released on: 3-CD + 1-BDDigipak Set + Digital+ T-Shirt “Warriors” Size L-XXL 

CD or DVD:
CD1 01 – Death Of A King | CD1 02 – Chain Of The Golden Horn | CD1 03 – Dark Love Empress | CD1 04 – Serpents And Dragons | CD1 05 – Black Butterfly (feat. ClĂ©mentine Delauney)
| CD1 06 – War Of Kings | CD1 07 – For Victory | CD1 08 – Two Kings One Realm | CD1 09 – Flames In The Sky | CD1 10 – Serkland | CD1 11 – Varangians | CD1 12 – Night Of The Ravens | CD1 13 – The Last Viking | CD1 14 – Break Into The Sky Of Aeon
CD2 01 – Death Of A King (Instrumental) | CD2 02 – Chain Of The Golden Horn (Instrumental) | CD2 03 – Dark Love Empress (Instrumental) | CD2 04 – Serpents And Dragons (Instrumental) | CD2 05 – Black Butterfly (Instrumental) | CD2 06 – War Of Kings (Instrumental) | CD2 07 – For Victory (Instrumental) | CD2 08 – Two Kings One Realm (Instrumental) | CD2 09 –  Flames In The Sky (Instrumental) | CD2 10 – Serkland (Instrumental) | CD2 11 – Varangians (Instrumental) | CD2 12 – Night Of The Ravens (Instrumental) | CD2 13 – The Last Viking (Instrumental) | CD2 14 – Break Into The Sky Of Aeon (Instrumental)
CD3 01 – Await Orre’s Storm (Soundtrack) | CD3 02 – Galeids Of The Væringjar (Soundtrack) | CD3 03 – Dread Hand’s Fame (Soundtrack) | CD3 04 – Into The Depths Of Hell (Soundtrack) | CD3 05 – Chain Of The Golden Horn (Soundtrack Version) | CD3 06 – Land Of The Rus (Soundtrack) | CD3 07 – The Golden Secret (Soundtrack) | CD3 08 – Past Wide Plains (Soundtrack) | CD3 09 – Death Of A King (Soundtrack Version) | CD3 10 – Blazing Waters (2020 Version)

Elina Siirala (Vocals), Alexander Krull (Vocals), Thorsten Bauer (Guitar, Bass), Micki Richter (Guitar), Joris Nijenhuis (Drums)


How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!