18th October 2018 0 By John Deaux

American New Wave Of Heavy Metal legends Virgin Steele have confirmed the release of a very special 5CD box set, ‘Seven Devils Moonshine’, containing two ‘Best Of’ CD’s and three CD’s crammed with new music alongside a 24 page booklet, plus sticker (of the album cover), on Steamhammer / SPV on November 23rd.

Vocalist David DeFeis, who founded Virgin Steele in 1981, elucidates: “Cheers, Greetings & Salutations Dear Ever Faithful Eternal Metal Listeners and Friends of the Musical Realm & Written Word Domain! I am putting pen to paper today to inform you all about what we have been doing over the past year and what this Box-Set you are now holding in your hands is all about, its backstory…how we arrived here at this place, and perhaps a bit more about where we might be heading.  

As some of you may know we have been re-issuing the Virgin Steele Catalogue bit by bit over the past several years, and in doing so we have consistently been adding copious amounts of Bonus Material to accompany all these various re-issue offerings. The last two albums scheduled as part of the re-issue campaign we began, are the albums: ‘The Book Of Burning’ & ‘Hymns To Victory’. When those two albums first appeared they were released simultaneously, therefore we thought why not once again issue them at the exact same time, but…this time let’s include a brand new album and create a kind of Box Set package. Well…once we began planning and recording for such an endeavor we very soon accumulated far more material than what could possibly fit on one disc…so…we thought OK fine…we’ll plan on releasing two new discs chock full of new material to go along with these last two re-issues…and…shortly after that decision was made, we managed to record even more new material, so now we have in addition to the two re-issues, (which by the way do contain one bonus track each), well Friends we now have actually three brand new discs of VS material included within this special Box Set release!   

I wish to stress the fact that what we have done here with our Box Set is include 3 brand new albums, not bundle in merely a collection of old bonus tracks we had hanging around for ages and ages… These 3 new discs contain either brand new original songs written and recorded within just these past few months, or brand new re-written covers of songs that we enjoy and felt could be re-cast in the VS style, or…new recordings of classic VS material done either in a special orchestral type setting or stripped way down and re-imagined in vastly different form. Again at the risk of repetition…these aren’t tracks that have been sitting around in the vaults waiting…these are all newly recorded tracks completed specifically for this particular Box Set release. I don’t know if anyone has ever done this kind of thing before, but we felt that for us it was absolutely necessary to do this, and it makes perfect sense for where we are…at this moment.   

OK Friends with glass in hand as is only proper as proprietor of the Vineyard, I shall be your guide to this Netherworld and I shall discuss and try to reveal a bit of something about the “Spirit” and “Flavor” of each of the 5 Discs contained within this Epic Box Set we call: ‘Seven Devils Moonshine’.” 

The individual CD Titles are:-

CD1 – ‘Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)’ Vintage 1 – Black Wine For Mourning.

CD2 – ‘Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)’ Vintage 2 – Red Wine For Warning.

CD3 – ‘Gothic Voodoo Anthems’.

CD4 – ‘Hymns To Victory’ (2002) [Re-release.]

CD5 – ‘The Book Of Burning’ (2002) ‘Re-release.]

How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!