Katatonia celebrate 10th anniversary of Night Is The New Day with exclusive live shows + deluxe edition of album

Katatonia celebrate 10th anniversary of Night Is The New Day with exclusive live shows + deluxe edition of album

20th February 2019 0 By Jon Deaux

The umbral machinery known as Katatonia is starting to make its first moves after an idle year of stillness. We will begin our return with a celebration of our album” Night is the New Day” which turns 10 years now in 2019.”

Anders Nystrom – 20th February 2019

2019 marks ten years since the release of Katatonia’s seminal Peaceville album Night Is The New Day.  Now, for the album’s 10th anniversary the band & Peaceville Records are set to release a deluxe edition of this classic album on 17th May 2019; and to further commemorate this dark gem, they will return to the live arena to play Night Is The New Day in its entirety at six select club shows in Europe in May.

Mon 20th – LUX – Luxembourg -Rockhal

Tue 21st – DE – Cologne – Live Music Hall

Wed 22nd – DE – Berlin- Columbiatheater

Thu 23rd – DE -Hamburg – Gruenspan

Fri 24th – BE – Vosselaar – Biebob

Sat 25th – UK – London – Islington Assembly Hall

Tickets on sale Friday 22nd February – https://www.facebook.com/katatonia

The band’s eighth album Night Is The New Day saw a continuation of the heaviness, depth & atmosphere of their previous album, The Great Cold Distance, with the band creating a more multi-dimensional sound. Asked how he now views the importance of Night Is The New Day within Katatonia’s career, guitarist, Anders Nystrom, muses “we, and many others, look upon this album as one of the most well produced, dark and atmospheric albums within our discography. It spawned new classics with ’Forsaker’ & ’Day And Then The Shade’ that have rarely left our live repertoire.  As a band, we dug deep into ourselves to deliver the epic ballad ’Departer’ as well as the folk song undertones of ’Idle Blood’, ’Inheritance’, The Promise of Deceit’ and ’Onward Into Battle’; then there is the rich contrast of dynamics in songs like ’The Longest year’, ’Liberation’, ’New Night’ and ’Ashen’ but we also slowed things down further to impending doom with the song ’Nephilim’. All of these songs glued this album together like pillars carrying the weight of both our night and day.”


The album was origibnally recorded at Studio Mega & Ghost Ward Studios in July 2009; co-produced, engineered and mixed by David Castillo (Opeth), with mastering by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Amon Amarth, Paradise Lost).  Night Is The New Day garnered praise not only from the worldwide media but also from their peers, with Opeth’s Mikael Akerfeldt stating “Night Is The New Day is ‘possibly the greatest ‘heavy’ record I have heard in the last 10 years… it truly is a masterpiece!” 

The 10th Anniversary edition of Night Is the New Day will feature new cover artwork from long-time Katatonia collaborator Travis Smith, be available for the first time in glorious hi-res 5.1, created by Bruce Soord, with sleevenotes and new interviews with Anders Nystrom & Jonas Renske by renowned journalist Dom Lawson.

‘With a genuinely unique take on metal, Katatonia have created a masterpiece’ –  Guitarist

‘Night Is the New Day is a near-flawless metal tour de force’  – Powerplay 10/10

‘With Night Is the New Day Katatonia have displayed a remarkable level of restraint and dynamic prowess whilst displaying a fuller grasp of the musical gamut than ever before’ – Prog Magazine    

 ‘This is truly classic Katatonia, and of unprecedented quality’ – Rock Sound 9/10

The 10th Anniversary edition of Night Is The New Day will be released on the following formats – all available to PRE-ORDER HERE

Ltd ed. deluxe version features:

CD1 – Night Is The New Day

CD2 – B-sides, remixes, live recordings

DVD – Original High Resolution Stereo Masters 24/96 PCM WAV + New (Bruce Soord) 5.1 Mixes  24/96 DTS  + ‘The Longest Year’ (video) + ‘Day and Then the Shade’ (video)

10” vinyl  –  Longest Day EP on 100g red vinyl

48 page hard back book with extensive new liner notes and interviews by Dom Lawson

LP – gatefold double LP on 180g red vinyl / new cover artwork from Travis Smith / edited sleevenotes from Dom Lawson

Katatonia are:

Jonas Renkse – Vocals

Anders Nyström – Guitar

Roger Öjersson – Guitar

Niklas Sandin – Bass

Daniel Moilanen – Drums

The dim future is there for the taking… follow us and hopefully more news will unfurl.





How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!