OZZY OSBOURNE announces new album “Patient Number 9”  out Sept 9th on Columbia Records

OZZY OSBOURNE announces new album “Patient Number 9” out Sept 9th on Columbia Records

24th June 2022 0 By John Deaux

OZZY is back!  Mark September 9 on your calendar as the release date for
PATIENT NUMBER 9, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter OZZY OSBOURNE’s new album and the first since his critically acclaimed, worldwide, chart-topping 2020 ORDINARY MAN release.


The album’s self-titled first single and video have today (Friday, June 24) been released worldwide.  Listen to “Patient Number 9here and watch the video Grammy winner and multiple Grammy nominee Todd McFarlane


“Having worked with Ozzy in the past, I jumped at another opportunity to do so again…especially on the music side this time,” Todd McFarlane says.  “In the harsh business called the music industry, any creative person who’s sustained a multi-decades career has shown the skill, talent and tenacity that will always garner my admiration. Ozzy has shown many of us creative folks that it’s indeed possible to make a living doing what you love for nearly an entire lifetime. Go, Ozzy!”


Produced by Andrew Watt (who handled the same duties on ORDINARY MAN) and set for release on Epic, the new album marks OSBOURNE’s 13th solo studio album.  It’s heavy, it’s hard-hitting, it’s historic–it’s everything you’d want from an OZZY OSBOURNE record and maybe more.


Patient Number 9” was written by OZZY, Watt, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith and Ali Tamposi and features a riveting solo from legendary guitarist Jeff Beck (one of the notable guest stars on the album, additional details below).  The video marks the first collaboration from the project with Emmy-and Grammy-winning director/producer Todd McFarlane.  It is highlighted by McFarlane’s signature illustrations interspersed with live OZZY vignettes in the role of “Patient Number 9,” which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed.  In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate OZZY’s artwork:  his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during the Jeff Beck solo in the song.


Working with producer Watt for the second time, OZZY welcomed a dynamic A-list supporting cast. The record boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters made an appearance.  Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs.  For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-lord Tony Iommi appears on an OZZY solo album.


An exclusive version of PATIENT NUMBER 9 with a limited-edition special McFarlane-designed comic book will be available for preorder; a limited-edition comic with foil cover is also available with a special deluxe box.  Both can be pre-ordered here.  Pre-order PATIENT NUMBER 9 here.

PATIENT NUMBER 9 track listing:  

  1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck) 
  2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready) 
  3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde) 
  4. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde) 
  5. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton) 
  6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck) 
  7. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi) 
  8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde) 
  9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde) 
  10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi) 
  11. Dead and Gone God Only Knows Darkside Blues  








How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!