Black Label Society – Grimmest Hits

Black Label Society – Grimmest Hits

25th January 2018 0 By Blair K. Rose

Taking a break from Black Sabbath tribute band, Zakk Sabbath, our Mr. Wylde has returned to give us Black Label Society’s Grimmest Hits. Unlike what the title might betray, Grimmest Hits is not a compilation album, but an entirely new tracklist. Black Label Society has always been a labour of love and adoration for its influences, from sick Iommi-licks to Zakk’s near perfect vocal shrinage of Layne Staley’s goat-like croon. If you’re at all acquainted with Black Label Society, you will know that thread of sonic ghostery throughout. Grimmest Hits is a tightening of this sound.

There is something real smooth and easy-going about this album. There are no jarring points, but neither are there any groundbreaking points. Zakk and Dario Lorina, second guitarist, play off each other with relaxed ease, almost extensions of one another. From beginning to end, there aren’t any parts that the listener would want to skip; rather, Grimmest Hits is a perfect kick-back-on-a-porch-with-a-beer, real chill kind of album.

Black Label Society often plays itself as a spiritual successor of its influences, and Grimmest Hits carries on the torch rather proudly.

The licks are thick, and the mood is legit. The only drawback to this album really, is that it doesn’t much keep one’s attention. There is nothing groundbreaking or novel going on with Grimmest Hits. This is very much metal within its safest element. Whether one feels that detracts from the album or not is really up to the subjectivity of the listener and their own personal emotions.

One thing is always for sure with Black Label Society: this band is dependable.

Score: 6.8/10


01. Trampled Down Below

02. Seasons Of Falter

03. The Betrayal

04. All That Once Shined

05. The Only Words

06. Room Of Nightmares

07. A Love Unreal

08. Disbelief

09. The Day That Heaven Had Gone Away

10. Illusions Of Peace

11. Bury Your Sorrow

12. Nothing Left To Say

Release Date



19th January 2018

For all things Black Label Society click HERE and to purchase the album click HERE



How useful was this post?

Click on a thumb to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.